Wrestling: Warriors open season with two wins

United North Central rallied past BHVPP, dominated OTC.

BD-Wrestling Graph.jpg
High school wrestling

The United North Central wrestling team opened the season by winning both dual meets during a triangular at Sebeka on Tuesday, Dec. 7.

Bertha-Hewitt/Verndale/Parkers Prairie led 21-15 before the Warriors won six of the final seven matches to rally for a 49-27 win. In the other dual, UNC jumped out to a 27-0 lead in a 66-10 victory over Ottertail Central.

Against BHVPP, first-period pins by Fordyce Johnson at 113 pounds and Conrad Koll at 120 along with a 6-0 minor decision by Spencer Erickson at 126 gave UNC a 15-6 advantage. BHVPP rallied to take the lead before Ethan Hendrickson’s 20-8 major decision at 152, first-period pins by Hank Tellers at 160 and Mason Plautz at 170, Eion Ness’ forfeit win at 182, and first-period pins by Torrey Carlson at 195 and Marcus Peterson at 285 gave the Warriors the win.

Zack Davidson’s 11-5 minor decision at 106, first-period pins by Johnson at 113 and Koll at 120, and forfeit wins by Erickson at 126 and Wyatt Olson at 132 put the Warriors in control against OTC. A first-period pin by Hendrickson at 145, a third-period pin by Tellers at 160, forfeit wins by Plautz at 170 and Ness at 182, Cooper Hasbargen’s 12-5 minor decision at 195, and first-period pins by Carlson at 220 and Peterson at 285 capped off the win.

United North Central 49, BHVPP 27
106: Justin Olson, BHVPP, pinned Zack Davidson 1:45. 113: Fordyce Johnson, UNC, pinned Preston Captain 1:12. 120: Conrad Koll, UNC, pinned Orran Hart 3:03. 126: Spencer Erickson, UNC, minor decision over Evan Jares 6-0. 132: David Revering, BHVPP, pinned Wyatt Olson 3:07. 138: Deagen Captain, BHVPP, minor decision over Dylan Rasmussen 8-4. 145; Blake Sumstad, BHVPP, pinned Riley Livingston 4:49. 152: Ethan Hendrickson, UNC, major decision over Reese Thompson 20-8. 160: Hank Tellers, UNC, pinned Holden Traux :43. 170: Mason Plautz, UNC, pinned Lincoln Finck :44. 182: Eion Ness, UNC, won by forfeit. 195: Torrey Carlson, UNC, pinned Justin Koehn 1:29. 220: Gideon Evasti, BHVPP, pinned Cooper Hasbargen 2:19. 285: Marcus Peterson, UNC, pinned Hunter Strom :53.
United North Central 66, Ottertail Central 10
106: Zack Davidson, UNC, minor decision over Mason Christianson 11-5. 113: Fordyce Johnson, UNC, pinned Tayden Soma 1:19. 120: Conrad Koll, UNC, pinned Julian Umlauf 1:36. 126: Spencer Erickson, UNC, won by forfeit. 132: Wyatt Olson, UNC, won by forfeit. 138: Brien Poser, OTC, major decision over Dylan Rasmussen 11-2. 145: Ethan Hendrickson, UNC, pinned Connor Nelson :53. 152: Tommy Ellert, OTC, pinned Riley Livingston 1:58. 160: Hank Tellers, UNC, pinned Jaxon Rich 4:22. 170: Mason Plautz, UNC, won by forfeit. 182: Eion Ness, UNC, won by forfeit. 195: Cooper Hasbargen, UNC, minor decision over Jonny Fielding 12-5. 220: Torrey Carlson, UNC, pinned Kale Rich 1:36. 285: Marcus Peterson, UNC, pinned Xavier Reineke 1:35.

Related Topics: WRESTLING
1982 Dawson-Boyd High School graduate
1987 Moorhead State University graduate
Sports reporter for Park Rapids Enterprise since 1987
What To Read Next