Wellen returns as Menahga’s interim superintendent

The Menahga School Board will gather for a special meeting at 6 p.m. Monday, Jan. 10 to finalize Wellen’s temporary contract.

Kevin Wellen.JPG
Kevin Wellen

The Menahga School Board authorized board chair Andrea Havernin to negotiate terms with newly retired superintendent Kevin Wellen. He will serve as interim superintendent while the search for his replacement continues.

The board held its organizational meeting on Tuesday, Jan. 4 to discuss this and other matters.

Wellen retired on Dec. 31, and returned to work on Jan. 5. The board will gather for a special meeting at 6 p.m. Monday, Jan. 10 to finalize Wellen’s temporary contract. They are also awaiting the U.S. Supreme Court’s decision on OSHA’s vaccine requirements, which is expected Friday, Jan. 7.

Wellen pointed out that his new contract would be a cost savings to the district, not a budget increase.

The board reelected Haverinen to the chair position, while Cherie Peterson was named vice chair. Katie Howard returns as clerk and Julie Kicker will serve as treasurer in 2022.


Helen Lehto and Dave Treinen took their oaths of office. In November, Lehto was elected to a three-year seat and Treinen to a one-year term.

For regular, special, committee meetings or workshops that are less than four hours, board members will be paid $80. If greater than four hours but less than six hours, the rate is $95. Meetings over six hours long results in $140.

Officers receive additional compensation. Vice chair, clerk and treasurer pay will remain at $250 per year. They agreed to increase the chair’s compensation from $150 to $225 per month.

Mileage is paid at the current IRS rate.

Regular board meetings will continue to be 6:30 p.m. on the third Monday of each month in the high school media center. Due to federal holidays, the January meeting is Tuesday, Jan. 18 and the February meeting is Tuesday, Feb. 22.

In other business, the board did as follows:

  • Named the Review Messenger the official school newspaper.

  • Authorized Community First Bank of Menahga and Sebeka, the Minnesota School District Liquid Asset Fund, Minnesota Trust and any other U.S. insured banking institution insured with FDIC coverage as the official school depositories.

  • Named Kennedy and Graven, Pemberton and Pederson as legal counsel.

  • Reaffirmed that the district’s combined polling places are Menahga City Hall and Wolf Lake Lions Hall.

  • Authorized the superintendent to employee substitutes and others as well as occasional seasonal temporary employees, as needed.

  • Named Elementary Principal Jeannie Mayer as the Title LEA representative for 2022.

Related Topics: EDUCATION
Shannon Geisen is editor of the Park Rapids Enterprise.
What To Read Next