Weather Forecast


Four area wrestlers qualify for state

Ashton Clark won the title at 113 pounds at the Section 8AA tournament to earn a trip to the state Class AA tournament. Clark will carry a 35-0 record to state. Vance Carlson / Enterprise

Four area wrestlers earned trips to state by placing either first or section at section tournaments.

Park Rapids' Ashton Clark claimed the Section 8AA title at 113 pounds Saturday at Hawley. During Friday's opening rounds, Clark pinned United Clay Becker's Nathan Sperr in the quarterfinals and posted a 6-0 minor decision over Pierz's Brandon Funk in the semifinals. Clark then defeated Detroit Lakes' Brody Ullyott 7-2 in Saturday's championship match and will carry a 35-0 record to the state Class AA tournament, which begins Thursday at the Xcel Energy Center in St. Paul.

At the Section 7A tournament at Cass Lake, Nevis' Dillon McGee won the title at 132 pounds and Kyle Schmidt finished second at 220 to earn trips to the state Class A tournament. McGee pinned Deer River's Trey Fairbanks in 5:31 in Friday's championship match while Schmidt dropped a 3-0 decision to Royalton's Jason Kasella in the title match.

United North Central's Toby Hintzman earned a return trip to the state Class A tournament by defeating Frazee's Hudson Hiemenz 4-2 in the Section 8A 152-pound championship match at Crookston Saturday.

Park Rapids had six other wrestlers place at the Section 8AA tournament. Cody Dravis advanced to the title match at 170 pounds, but was denied a trip to state following a 6-1 loss to Perham's Dawson Kellogg in the championship match and an 11-4 loss to Detroit Lakes' Isaiah Thompson in a true-second match. Dwayne Johnson placed third at 285, Landen Burlingame placed fourth at 145, Jack Hensel placed fourth at 182, Zach Hocking placed fourth at 220 and Eli Bessman placed fifth at 152 for the Panthers.

Ethan Hendrickson placed third at 106 and Jared Seibert placed third at 285 for UNC at the Section 8A tournament.