Weather Forecast


Fergus Falls eliminates Panthers in first round

Fergus Falls took advantage of six forfeits to defeat the Park Rapids wrestling team 36-31 in the first round of Saturday's Section 8AA tournament at Thief River Falls.

The No. 8-seeded Panthers jumped out to a 9-0 lead behind Lucas Kritzeck's 9-2 minor decision at 106 pounds and Ashton Clark's pin in 1:32 at 113.

Two forfeits and two pins gave Fergus Falls a 24-9 lead before Landen Burlingame's pin in 1:44 at 145 and Eli Bessman's 13-0 major decision at 152 cut the deficit to 24-19.

After another forfeit at 160 and a double forfeit at 170 gave the No. 9-seeded Otters a 30-25 edge, Cody Dravis' forfeit win at 182 and Jack Hensel's pin in 20 seconds at 195 gave Park Rapids a 31-30 lead.

Fergus Falls won the match with a forfeit at 220 before both teams forfeited at 285.

The loss dropped the Panthers' record in dual meets to 9-14 while Fergus Falls improved to 4-16.

In Saturday's other first-round match, No. 7 United Clay Becker eliminated No. 10 Sauk Centre/Melrose 37-25. In the quarterfinals, No. 1 Perham blanked Fergus Falls 82-0, No. 5 Thief River Falls edged No. 4 Dilworth-Glyndon-Felton 31-28, No. 2 Detroit Lakes blanked United Clay Becker 68-9 and No. 3 Pierz defeated No. 6 Pequot Lakes/Pine River-Backus 55-21.

Perham eliminated Thief River Falls 42-21 while Detroit Lakes eliminated Pierz 51-18 in the semifinals. Detroit Lakes held a 27-19 lead before Perham won the final three matches to rally for a 32-27 victory in the championship match.

Perham entered the section tournament rated No. 4 in the state Class A poll while Detroit Lakes (No. 15), Pierz (No. 19) and Thief River Falls (No. 22) were also rated. Perham will carry a 27-1 record into the state Class AA tournament.

Hawley will host the Section 8AA individual tournament Friday and Saturday.

Fergus Falls 36, Park Rapids 31

106: Lucas Kritzeck, PR, minor decision over Chais Rudolph 9-2. 113: Ashton Clark, PR, pinned Caden Olsen 1:32. 120: Jacob Widness, FF, won by forfeit. 126: Justin Boyd, FF, pinned Kobe Burton 1:30. 132: Ethan Krause, FF, won by forfeit. 138: Kaden Hartwell, FF, pinned Joe Klein 2:41. 145: Landen Burlingame, PR, pinned Sam Sorum 1:44. 152: Eli Bessman, PR, major decision over Lucas Oliphant 13-0. 160: Isaac Oliphant, FF, won by forfeit. 170: Double forfeit. 182: Cody Dravis, PR, won by forfeit. 195: Jack Hensel, PR, pinned Jay Rodriguez :20. 220: Eli Sorum, FF, won by forfeit. 285: Double forfeit.