Weather Forecast


New York Mills uses five pins to defeat Panthers

New York Mills used five pins and a pair of forfeits in posting a 42-30 win over the Park Rapids wrestling team Thursday night at New York Mills.

Pins were the difference as the Panthers matched New York Mills' seven wins with four minor decisions, one pin and two forfeits.

New York Mills jumped out to a 30-3 lead, capped off by Matt Frost's pin at 138 pounds. Frost was rated No. 9 at that weight in the latest state Class A poll. A takedown and a reversal gave Ashton Clark a 4-0 minor decision at 113 for the Panthers' only win in the early going.

Park Rapids posted back-to-back minor decisions as Landen Burlingame used an escape and takedown in the third period for a 6-3 win at 145 while Eli Bessman used a takedown and nearfall in the third period for a 7-3 win at 152.

Cody Dravis received a forfeit at 170 before Jack Hensel used a pair of takedowns to spark a 7-1 decision at 182 as Park Rapids trailed 36-18. New York Mills sealed the win on Jake Erckenbrack's pin at 195. Erckenbrack entered the match rated No. 3 in the state at that weight.

The Panthers closed out the dual with Zach Hocking's pin at 220 and Dwayne Johnson's forfeit win at 285.

New York Mills, which entered this dual rated No. 20 in the state poll, improved to 12-4 in dual meets while the Panthers fell to 8-12.

New York Mills 42, Park Rapids 30

106: Dane Niemi, NYM, pinned Lucas Kritzeck 1:48. 113: Ashton Clark, PR, minor decision over Gabe Geiser 4-0. 120: Carter Haman, NYM, won by forfeit. 126: Bren Salo, NYM, pinned Kobe Burton 3:12. 132: Logan Small, NYM, won by forfeit. 138: Matt Frost, NYM, pinned Joe Klein 5:23. 145: Landen Burlingame, PR, minor decision over Charlie Fox 6-3. 152: Eli Bessman, PR, minor decision over Alex Sandoval 7-3. 160: Dylan Fischer, NYM, pinned Dawson Roth :59. 170: Cody Dravis, PR, won by forfeit. 182: Jack Hensel, PR, minor decision over Elliot Mann 7-1. 195: Jake Erckenbrack, NYM, pinned Kian Scott 1:47. 220: Zach Hocking, PR, pinned Brandon Wirre 1:31. 285: Dwayne Johnson, PR, won by forfeit.