Wrestlers win team title at Crookston

Five individuals claimed titles in leading the Park Rapids wrestling team to the team title at the Crookston Invitational on Dec. 10. Ashton Clark at 113, Landen Burlingame at 132, Jared Sunram at 160, Cody Dravis at 170 and Justin Dravis at 182 ...

Five individuals claimed titles in leading the Park Rapids wrestling team to the team title at the Crookston Invitational on Dec. 10.

Ashton Clark at 113, Landen Burlingame at 132, Jared Sunram at 160, Cody Dravis at 170 and Justin Dravis at 182 claimed individual titles for the Panthers, who topped the 12-team field with 204 points. Hillsboro-Central Valley was second with 172 points.

Clark defeated United North Central's Isaac Tellers 6-0 in the 113 title match. Burlingame edged Bemidji's Owen Lucas 6-5 for the title at 132. Sunram pinned Grafton's Noah Flores in 1:07 to win the title at 160. Cody Dravis pinned his way to the title at 170, pinning Hillsboro's Mark Hastings in 55 seconds in the championship match. Justin Dravis also pinned his way to the finals at 180, winning the title by pinning Bemidji's Hunter Schoenborn in 1:40.

Jacob Bittmann reached the championship match at 220, dropping a 7-3 decision to United Clay Becker's Sam Wamre. Nolan Booge finished third at 138.

Also placing for the Panthers were Joe Klein (fourth at 126), Jack Hensel (fifth at 195), John Hoefs (sixth at 120) and Logan Veo (sixth at 285).


United North Central finished fourth with 150 points as Ben Johnson edged Walker-Hackensack-Akeley/Nevis' Dillon McGee 8-6 in overtime for the title at 126 and Austin Bacon defeated Crookston's Colton Weiland 8-5 for the title at 138. Bacon was the Co-Outstanding Wrestler with HCV's Luke Hastings.

Also placing for the Warriors were Jared Seibert (second at 285), Eion Ness (third at 120), Toby Hintzman (third at 160), Gator Bettin (fourth at 182), Cade LaCoe (fifth at 152) and Mason Bradley (sixth at 170).

WHAN's Austin Smith was fourth at 170, Carter Rettke wa fifth at 120 and Kyle Schmidt took sixth at 160.

Team scores: Park Rapids 204, Hillsboro-Central Valley 172, New York Mills 171, United North Central 150, Bemidji JV 117, Roseau 106, United Clay Becker 95.50, Crookston 84, Grafton 83, Walker-Hackensack-Akeley/Nevis 58.50, Red Lake County Central 34, Mahnomen-Waubun 31.50.

Championship matches

106: Dane Niemi, NYM, pinned Luke Leshuk, HCV, 2:43. 113: Ashton Clark, PR, minor decision over Isaac Tellers, UNC, 6-0. 120: Joe Hudson, B, pinned Matt Anderson, HCV, 3:59. 126: Ben Johnson, UNC, minor decision over Dillon McGee, WHAN, 8-6 (ot). 132: Landen Burlingame, PR, minor decision over Owen Lucas, B, 6-5. 138: Austin Bacon, UNC, minor decision over Colton Weiland, C, 8-5. 145: Preston Derosier, C, minor decision over Ben Olson, R, 4-2. 152: Luke Hastings, HCV, minor decision over Chandler Mooney, R, 7-0. 160: Jared Sunram, PR, pinned Noah Flores, G, 1:07. 170: Cody Dravis, PR, pinned Mark Hastings, HCV, :55. 182: Justin Dravis, PR, pinned Hunter Schoenborn, B, 1:40. 195: Jake Erckenbrack, NYM, pinned JC Martinez, G, 2:36. 220: Sam Wamre, UCB, minor decision over Jacob Bittmann, PR, 7-3. 285: Jeff Seasert, NYM, pinned Jared Siebert, UNC, 1:04.

Park Rapids results

Ashton Clark (113): pinned Nolan Dans, C, 1:41; pinned Garrett Elynk, MW, :54; pinned Garrett Peterson, UCB, 3:15; won minor decision over Isaac Tellers, UNC, 6-0 (1st).


John Hoefs (120): lost major decision to Matt Anderson, HCV, 10-0; won minor decision over Cameron Weiland, C, 10-9; won major decision over Bryce Bergeson, RLCC, 9-0; lost major decision to Sam Helgeson, UCB, 9-0; lost minor decision to Carter Rettke, WHAN, 6-0 (6th).

Joe Klein (126): pinned by Austin Thompson, G, 3:08; won major decision over Kaden Pastian, HCV, 9-1; won minor decision over Sam Olson, MW, 7-6; pinned by Thompson 2:38 (4th).

Landen Burlingame (132): pinned Chase Dorman, MW, 1:17; won minor decision over Owen Lucas, B, 6-5 (1st).

Nolan Booge (138): pinned Adam Syverson, MW, 1:04; pinned Sanden O'Connell, UCB, :36; pinned by Austin Bacon, UNC, 5:35; pinned Riley Eidsmoe, R, :38; won minor decision over Matthew Frost, NYM, 5-1 (3rd).

Eli Bessman (145): pinned by Riley Bykkum, UCB, 5:42; lost technical fall to Izaiah Asher, MW, 15-0.

Randall Scott (152): pinned by Dylan Fischer, NYM, 3:37; lost minor decision to Cade LaCoe, UNC, 4-0.

Jared Sunram (160): pinned Brandon McCourt, R, :54; won minor decision over Danny Frost, NYM, 7-1; pinned Noah Flores, G, 1:07 (1st).

Cody Dravis (170): pinned Tristyn Ferguson, RLCC, 1:03; pinned Austin Smith, WHAN, 1:29; pinned Mark Hastings, HCV, :55 (1st).


Justin Dravis (182): pinned Kyle Gagner, RLCC, :19; pinned Gator Bettin, UNC, :56; pinned Hunter Schoenborn, B, 1:40 (1st).

Jack Hensel (195): won minor decision over Brodie Wensloff, R, 7-0; pinned by Jake Erckenbrack, NYM, 1:50; lost minor decision to Nick Podlack, MW, 5-3; won minor decision over Wensloff 4-3 (5th).

Jacob Bittmann (220): pinned Nick Pahlen, RLCC, 1:11; won minor decision over Josh Olson, NYM, 9-06; lost minor decision to Sam Wamre, UCB, 7-3 (2nd).

Logan Veo (285): pinned Alex Castaneda, RLCC, 2:37; pinned by Jeff Saewert, NYM, :23; pinned Eli Noel, UCB, 1:20; pinned Logan Bendickson, MW, :18; pinned by Cody Desrosier, B, 3:15; lost by forfeit to Luis Enriquez, R (6th).

Related Topics: WRESTLING
1982 Dawson-Boyd High School graduate
1987 Moorhead State University graduate
Sports reporter for Park Rapids Enterprise since 1987
What To Read Next
The Detroit Lakes-based collective also includes players from Frazee-Vergas, Perham, New York Mills and Park Rapids.
Warm temperatures and partial sun greeted 33 drivers, crews and riders for the opening day. Plus, a huge gathering of fans looked on in the special area created for fans’ viewing pleasure.
If accepted, the school would join Barnesville, Breckenridge, Dilworth-Glyndon-Felton, Hawley, Frazee, Pelican Rapids and Perham in 2024-25.