Wrestlers split duals at Wadena

The Park Rapids wrestling team rebounded from a loss to Crosby-Ironton to defeat Wadena-Deer Creek.

After opening with a 45-30 loss to Crosby-Ironton, the Park Rapids wrestling team rebounded to defeat Wadena-Deer Creek 49-30 to salvage a split during a triangular meet at Wadena on Tuesday, Jan. 26.

The Panthers jumped out to an 18-9 lead against C-I behind Robby Sherk’s pin at 106 pounds and forfeit wins by Eli Burton at 120 and Jarrett Galzki at 132. The Rangers won the next six matches with four pins and two forfeits to claim a 45-18 lead. Park Rapids closed the dual with first-period pins by Dandre Johnson at 220 and Isaac Knapp at 285.

In the match against W-DC, the Panthers used forfeits by Sherk at 106, Burton at 120 and Matthew Dahring at 126 along with Wrigley Clark’s 10-3 minor decision at 113 to claim a 21-0 lead. After a pair of pins by the Wolverines made it 21-12, Lucas Kritzeck’s first-period pin at 145 and Zach Paurus’ 9-0 major decision at 152 gave Park Rapids a 31-12 advantage. Clark and Paurus used three takedowns and a nearfall to spark their wins. Three forfeits pulled W-DC to within 31-30, but the Panthers sealed the win with forfeit wins by Tristan Hill at 195, Johnson at 220 and Knapp at 285.

The split left the Panthers with a 3-1 record while W-DC fell to 0-8. Crosby-Ironton, which defeated W-DC 60-18 in the first match, improved to 3-1 on the season.

Crosby-Ironton 45, Park Rapids 30
106: Robby Sherk, PR, pinned Michael Anderson :20. 113: Dillon Barna, CI, minor decision over Wrigley Clark 7-2. 120: Eli Burton, PR, won by forfeit. 126: Cam Durant, CI, pinned Matthew Dahring 3:26. 132: Jarrett Galzki, PR, won by forfeit. 138: Colby Hanson, CI, pinned Henry Thorson 1:55. 145: John Paul Fitzpatrick, CI, pinned Lucas Kritzeck :55. 152: Gabe Ridlon, CI, pinned Zach Paurus 2:18. 160: Double forfeit. 170: Jake Klancher, CI, won by forfeit. 182: Hayden McGowen, CI, won by forfeit. 195: Michael Fitzpatrick, CI, pinned Tristan Hill 2:46. 220: Dandre Johnson, PR, pinned Ben Gripentrog :50. 285: Isaac Knapp, PR, pinned Connor Zender :53.
Park Rapids 49, Wadena-Deer Creek 30
106: Robby Sherk, PR, won by forfeit. 113: Wrigley Clark, PR, minor decision over Mason Brauch 10-3. 120: Eli Burton, PR, won by forfeit. 126: Matthew Dahring, PR, won by forfeit. 132: Simon Snyder, WDC, pinned Jarett Galzki :21. 138: Eli Benning, WDC, pinned Henry Thorson 3:49. 145: Lucas Kritzeck, PR, pinned Nicholas Manselle :50. 152: Zach Paurus, PR, major decision over Brandon Wheeler 9-0. 160: Seth Stoeing, WDC, won by forfeit. 170: Grant Seelhammer, WDC, won by forfeit. 182: Koby Endres, WDC, won by forfeit. 195: Tristan Hill, PR, won by forfeit. 220: Dandre Johnson, PR, won by forfeit. 285: Isaac Knapp, PR, won by forfeit.


Related Topics: WRESTLING
1982 Dawson-Boyd High School graduate
1987 Moorhead State University graduate
Sports reporter for Park Rapids Enterprise since 1987
What To Read Next
The Detroit Lakes-based collective also includes players from Frazee-Vergas, Perham, New York Mills and Park Rapids.
Warm temperatures and partial sun greeted 33 drivers, crews and riders for the opening day. Plus, a huge gathering of fans looked on in the special area created for fans’ viewing pleasure.
If accepted, the school would join Barnesville, Breckenridge, Dilworth-Glyndon-Felton, Hawley, Frazee, Pelican Rapids and Perham in 2024-25.