Wrestlers end regular season with a win, face UNC in section quarterfinals

The Park Rapids wrestling team closed out the regular season by following a 54-30 loss to Fosston/Bagley with a 48-16 win over Mahnomen/Waubun.

Park Rapids' Zach Paurus pinned Fosston/Bagley's Mason Erickson in the third period of their 126-pound match at the Century School gym on Thursday, Feb. 6. Vance Carlson / Enterprise

Kaden Safratowich, Joe Stachowski and Hunter Carnell all recorded pins in their final home matches as the Park Rapids wrestling team ended the regular season by splitting duals during a triangular meet at the Century School gym on Thursday, Feb. 6.

The Panthers followed a 54-30 loss to Fosston/Bagley with a 48-16 victory over Mahnomen/Waubun in a triangular meet between Section 8A teams.

Fosston/Bagley overcame an early 18-12 deficit in the opening match by winning six straight matches, including five by pins. Robby Sherk’s pin in 3:09 at 106 pounds, Zach Paurus’ pin in 5:33 at 126 and Lucas Kritzeck’s pin in 25 seconds at 132 gave the Panthers the early lead. After Fosston/Bagley claimed a 48-18 advantage, Stachowski received a forfeit win at 195 and Carnell posted a pin in 37 seconds at 220 to conclude Park Rapids’ scoring.

Pins by Sherk, Kritzeck, Safratowich and Stachowski sparked the Panthers past Mahnomen/Waubun to close out the regular season on a positive note. Sherk’s pin in 1:39 at 113, forfeit wins by Eli Burton at 120 and Paurus at 126, and Kritzeck’s pin in 1:23 at 138 gave Park Rapids a 24-6 lead. Safratowich’s pin in 1:13 at 160, Tristin Hill’s forfeit win at 182, Stachowski’s pin in 48 seconds at 220 and Carnell’s forfeit win at 285 capped off the win. Both teams forfeited matches at 106, 152 and 195.

The split gave Park Rapids a 2-3 record against section opponents and a 7-11 overall record. Fosston/Bagley improved to 16-9 and Mahnomen/Waubun fell to 3-17.


The Section 8A team tournament will begin on Tuesday, Feb. 11, with quarterfinal matches. United North Central will host the Panthers at Sebeka at 7 p.m. UNC, which defeated Park Rapids 60-18 in the season opener, will enter the section tournament with a 14-7 record. The section semifinals and championship match will be held at Fertile on Friday, Feb. 14, beginning at 6 p.m.

Fosston/Bagley 54, Park Rapids 30
106: Robby Sherk, PR, pinned Aiden Wolfe 3:09. 113: Keegan Senger, FB, pinned Eli Burton :30. 120: Zach Thompson, FB, pinned Matt Dahring :34. 126: Zach Paurus, PR, pinned Mason Erickson 5:33. 132: Lucas Kritzeck, PR, pinned Cameron Manecke :25. 138: Tegan Larson, FB, pinned Henry Thorson :54. 145: Jayce Thompson, FB, pinned Taten Horton 1:00. 152: Carter Sorenson, FB, pinned Kaden Safratowich 2:51. 160: Dane Schoenborn, FB, won by forfeit. 170: Henry Burrack, FB, pinned Miek White 2:46. 182: Jacob Lomen, FB, pinned Tristin Hill 1:00. 195: Joe Stachowski, PR, won by forfeit. 220: Hunter Carnell, PR, pinned Evan Chalich :37. 285: Axel Munter, FB, won by forfeit.
Park Rapids 48, Mahnomen/Waubun 16
106: Double forfeit. 113: Robby Sherk, PR, pinned Lukas Geray 1:39. 120: Eli Burton, PR, won by forfeit. 126: Zach Paurus, PR, won by forfeit. 132: Garret Eiynck, MW, pinned Henry Thorson 1:27. 138: Lucas Kritzeck, PR, pinned Will Olson 1:23. 145: Dustin Rock, MW, major decision over Taten Horton 12-4. 152: Double forfeit. 160: Kaden Safratowich, PR, pinned Nikowa Fortier 1:13. 170: Blake Geray, MW, pinned Mike White 5:01. 182: Tristin Hill, PR, won by forfeit. 195: Double forfeit. 220: Joe Stachowski, PR, pinned Shae Yates :48. 285: Hunter Carnell, PR, won by forfeit.

1982 Dawson-Boyd High School graduate
1987 Moorhead State University graduate
Sports reporter for Park Rapids Enterprise since 1987
What To Read Next
Get Local