Wellman helps W-DC win state Babe Ruth Intact title

Park Rapids draftee plays key role during state tournament

Park Rapids' Harley Wellman (right) posed with coach Kyle Dykhoff after Wadena-Deer Creek won the 14-15 Year Old Intact State Babe Ruth Championship at Warroad on July 28. Submitted photo

Park Rapids’ Harley Wellman helped the Wadena-Deer Creek Babe Ruth baseball team capture the 2019 14-15 Year Old Intact State Championship with a 5-1 victory over Royalton on July 28 at Warroad.

Wellman, who was a draftee from the Park Rapids Storm Babe Ruth team, played a key role in W-DC’s state championship run as the starting catcher and a relief pitcher while batting fifth in the lineup.

Wadena-Deer Creek posted a 2-1 record in pool play and won three straight games in bracket play to capture the championship in this 16-team tournament, which was held at Warroad on July 25-28.

Wadena-Deer Creek opened round-robin play with an 8-5 victory over Roseau. Wellman finished with two hits in that game. Wellman had a pair of hits as W-DC routed Dilworth-Glyndon-Felton 12-2 in five innings in the second game of pool play. Wellman contributed two more hits in W-DC’s 11-8 loss to Royalton to conclude round-robin play. That third game didn’t matter as both teams had already qualified for the eight-team championship bracket.

W-DC opened play in the finals with a 6-4 quarterfinal victory over New York Mills as Wellman had two hits. W-DC defeated New York Mills 1-0 in the championship game of the District 2 tournament at Bemidji on July 21 to qualify for state. In the semifinals, W-DC defeated Ashby 10-0 before claiming the state title by defeating Royalton as Wellman finished with two hits and pitched the final 1 ⅓ innings in the championship game.


Related Topics: PARK RAPIDS
1982 Dawson-Boyd High School graduate
1987 Moorhead State University graduate
Sports reporter for Park Rapids Enterprise since 1987
What To Read Next
The Detroit Lakes-based collective also includes players from Frazee-Vergas, Perham, New York Mills and Park Rapids.
Warm temperatures and partial sun greeted 33 drivers, crews and riders for the opening day. Plus, a huge gathering of fans looked on in the special area created for fans’ viewing pleasure.
If accepted, the school would join Barnesville, Breckenridge, Dilworth-Glyndon-Felton, Hawley, Frazee, Pelican Rapids and Perham in 2024-25.
Katy Bloomquist Freitag of Park Rapids and Ryan Rogers of Bemidji finish the grueling competition.