Warriors roll to 64-15 win over Wolves

The United North Central wrestling team used seven pins to defeat Walker-Hackensack-Akeley/Nevis.

The United North Central wrestling team won 10 matches in a row in rolling to a 64-15 victory over Walker-Hackensack-Akeley/Nevis at Walker on Thursday, Jan. 16.

WHAN took a 9-4 lead behind Dawson McGee’s 4-0 minor decision at 106 and Callen Whitney’s pin in 3:08 at 120. Pinoniemi posted a 12-2 major decision at 113 for the Warriors.

UNC controlled the rest of the match with seven pins and three forfeits in the next 10 bouts. Recording pins for the Warriors were TJ Jasicki in :47 at 126, Skaro in 5:48 at 132, Joel Isaacson in 1:13 at 152, Torma in 2:16 at 170, Vince Dailey in :11 at 182, Torrey Carlson in 2:40 at 195 and Marcus Peterson in 4:09 at 220. Tellers at 138, Shawn Hendrickson at 145 and Meech at 160 received forfeits.

Connor Andress ended the dual with a pin in 47 seconds at 285 for the Wolves.

The win lifted UNC to 11-6 in dual meets while WHAN fell to 3-5.


United North Central 64, WHAN 15
106: Dawson McGee, WHAN, minor decision over Aaron Lake 4-0. 113: Reid Pinoniemi, UNC, major decision over Eli Johnson 12-2. 120: Callen Whitney, WHAN, pinned Wyatt Olson 3:08. 126: TJ Jasicki, UNC, pinned Devin Johnson :47. 132: Hunter Skaro, UNC, pinned Alex Hein 5:48. Hank Tellers, UNC, won by forfeit. 145: Shawn Hendrickson, UNC, won by forfeit. 152: Joel Isaacson, UNC, pinned Wesley Johnson 1:13. 160: Dakota Meech, UNC, won by forfeit. 170: Logan Torma, UNC, pinned Nathan Keiser 2:16. 182: Vince Dailey, UNC, pinned Kolby Hamblin :11. 195: Torrey Carlson, UNC, pinned Fischer Smith 2:40. 220: Marcus Peterson, UNC, pinned Dane Patten 4:09. 285: Connor Andress, WHAN, pinned Justin Gonska :47.

Related Topics: WRESTLING
1982 Dawson-Boyd High School graduate
1987 Moorhead State University graduate
Sports reporter for Park Rapids Enterprise since 1987
What To Read Next
The Detroit Lakes-based collective also includes players from Frazee-Vergas, Perham, New York Mills and Park Rapids.
Warm temperatures and partial sun greeted 33 drivers, crews and riders for the opening day. Plus, a huge gathering of fans looked on in the special area created for fans’ viewing pleasure.
If accepted, the school would join Barnesville, Breckenridge, Dilworth-Glyndon-Felton, Hawley, Frazee, Pelican Rapids and Perham in 2024-25.
Katy Bloomquist Freitag of Park Rapids and Ryan Rogers of Bemidji finish the grueling competition.