UNC girls take second at Pequot Lakes meet

UNC boys place third as host Patriots sweep titles

Pequot Lakes used home-course advantage to sweep titles at the four-team Pequot Lakes Invitational cross-country meet at Crosslake on Thursday, Sept. 5.

Calia Chaney led the 28-runner field with a winning 5K time of 20:46 in leading Pequot Lakes to the girls title with 19 points. United North Central followed with 38 points with Anjalie Aho (fourth in 23:04), Karrin Lehto (fifth in 23:54), Gabby Hrdlicka (eighth in 24:54), Kate Hendrickson (ninth in 24:54) and Molly Hendrickson (12th in 26:22) leading the Warriors.

The Patriots scored a perfect 15 points by sweeping the top-five spots in the boys race as Ethan Johnson led the 31-runner field in 18:30 over the 5K course. UNC finished third with 78 points as Andreas Aho (eighth in 19:43), Christian Johnson (14th in 21:25), Charlie Hodge (19th in 22:55), Sam Jackola (20th in 23:09) and Rashed Lincoln (29th in 29:20) competed for the Warriors.

Girls team scores: Pequot Lakes 19, United North Central 38, Pillager 80, Pine River-Backus incomplete.
Individual results
1, Calia Chaney, PL, 20:46. 2, Carly Chaney, PL, 21:28. 3, Rian Zutter, PL, 21:49. 4, Anjalie Aho, UNC, 23:04. 5, Kaarin Lehto, UNC, 23:54. 8, Gabby Hrdlicka, UNC, 24:54. 9, Kate Hendrickson, UNC, 24:54. 12, Molly Hendrickson, UNC, 26:22. 14, Devon Haverinen, UNC, 27:52. 16, Hope Shepersky, UNC, 28:32. 18, Lora Isaacson, UNC, 30:07. 21, Madison Bullock, UNC, 31:34. 23, Rachael Smith, UNC, 32:13.
Boys team scores: Pequot Lakes 15, Pine River-Backus 69, United North Central 78, Pillager 81.
Individual results
1, Ethan Johnson, PL, 18:30. 2, Jesse Clausen, PL, 18:44. 3, Dawsin Ackerman, PL, 18:59. 4, Eli Laposky, PL, 19:05. 5, Collin Yahn, PL, 19:07. 8, Andreas Aho, UNC, 19:43. 14, Christian Johnson, UNC, 21:25. 19, Charlie Hodge, UNC, 22:55. 20, Sam Jackola, UNC, 23:09. 29, Rashed Lincoln, UNC, 29:20.

1982 Dawson-Boyd High School graduate
1987 Moorhead State University graduate
Sports reporter for Park Rapids Enterprise since 1987
What To Read Next
The Detroit Lakes-based collective also includes players from Frazee-Vergas, Perham, New York Mills and Park Rapids.
Warm temperatures and partial sun greeted 33 drivers, crews and riders for the opening day. Plus, a huge gathering of fans looked on in the special area created for fans’ viewing pleasure.
If accepted, the school would join Barnesville, Breckenridge, Dilworth-Glyndon-Felton, Hawley, Frazee, Pelican Rapids and Perham in 2024-25.