Tigers' season ends with 57-50 loss in state quarterfinals

Matt Thompson scored 29 points in leading Hancock to the semifinals of the state Class A boys basketball tournament.


The Nevis boys basketball team didn't have an answer for 6-foot-7 center Matt Thompson.

Thompson scored 29 points in leading Hancock to a 57-50 victory over the Tigers in a state Class A quarterfinal game at Perham on Wednesday, March 31.

Nevis, the Section 5A champs, claimed an early 15-8 lead behind a pair of 3-pointers by Eddie Kramer and two layups apiece by Ty Warrington and Joe Houchin. Layups by Houchin and Warrington gave the Tigers a 19-13 advantage.

Hancock ended the half with a 17-3 run to take the lead for good. Two layups by Thompson and a 3-pointer by Kody Berget gave the Owls their first lead of the game at 25-22 before a 3-pointer by Thompson before the buzzer gave Hancock a 30-22 advantage at the half.

After JP Benson opened the second half by making a 3-pointer, two layups by Thompson sparked an 8-0 run as the Owls led 38-25. That ended a 25-6 run by Hancock. Another layup by Thompson kept Hancock in front 43-29 before the Tigers rallied.


Derek Lindow, who was held scoreless in the first half, hit three 3-pointers and Benson hit a 3-pointer as Nevis cut the gap to 52-48. Back-to-back layups by Brandon Kellenberger pushed the lead to 56-48. Jack McNamee hit two free throws to make it 56-50 with :48 to play, but the Tigers were held scoreless the rest of the way.

Lindow finished with 13 points as the Tigers closed the season with a 20-3 record.

Hancock will carry an 18-5 record to the state Class A semifinals.

1982 Dawson-Boyd High School graduate
1987 Moorhead State University graduate
Sports reporter for Park Rapids Enterprise since 1987
What To Read Next
The Detroit Lakes-based collective also includes players from Frazee-Vergas, Perham, New York Mills and Park Rapids.
Warm temperatures and partial sun greeted 33 drivers, crews and riders for the opening day. Plus, a huge gathering of fans looked on in the special area created for fans’ viewing pleasure.
If accepted, the school would join Barnesville, Breckenridge, Dilworth-Glyndon-Felton, Hawley, Frazee, Pelican Rapids and Perham in 2024-25.
Katy Bloomquist Freitag of Park Rapids and Ryan Rogers of Bemidji finish the grueling competition.