Three Warriors qualify for state wrestling meet

Three United North Central wrestlers qualified for the state Class A wrestling tournament by reaching the finals at the Section 8A meet at Crookston on Feb. 23.

Three United North Central wrestlers qualified for the state Class A wrestling tournament by reaching the finals at the Section 8A meet at Crookston on Feb. 23.

Ethan Hendrickson won the section title at 106 pounds while Isaac Tellers finished second at 120 and Eion Ness won a true-second match at 145 as all three advanced to state for the first time.

Hendrickson, the No. 1 seed in the section and the No. 3-rated wrestler in the state at 106 pounds, posted a 15-4 major decision over Fertile-Beltrami's Daunte Yost in the semifinals and followed with an 11-2 major decision over Frazee's Jake Nagel in the finals to qualify for state. Hendrickson will carry a 35-3 record to the Class A meet.

Tellers entered as the No. 2 seed at 120 and reached the finals with a 16-0 technical fall win over Badger-Greenbush-Middle River's Brogan Beito in the quarterfinals and a 6-1 minor decision over Fosston/Bagley's Christian Schmidt in the semifinals. Mahnomen-Waubun's Garret Elynck pinned Tellers in 2:28 in the title match. Tellers will take a 9-5 record to state.

Ness was the No. 2 seed at 145 and advanced to the finals by pinning Crookston's Cade Coauette in 1:27 and posting a 17-2 technical fall win over Red Lake County Central's Paul DeHate in the semifinals. BGMR's Owen Novacek pinned Ness in 1:15 in the title match. Novacek was the top seed and rated No. 3 in state. Ness rebounded to earn a state berth with a 7-2 decision over Mahnomen-Waubun's Chase Dorman in a true-second match. Ness will bring a 32-12 record to state.


Four other UNC wrestlers just missed advancing to state by placing third.

TJ Jasicki pinned BGMR's Jaxon Janousek in 2:00 in the quarterfinals at 113 before dropping an 8-4 decision to Frazee's Christian Carlson in the semifinals. Jasicki rebounded to pin M-W's Will Olson in 2:05 and Fertile-Beltrami's Seth Lavalier in 2:41 to place third.

Dakota Meech pinned Fertile-Beltrami's Alex Smith in 5:36 in the quarterfinals at 160 before dropping an 8-2 decision to BGMR's Caleb Vacura in the semifinals. After pinning Fosston/Bagley's Tyler Maruska in 3:17 and Smith in 5:58, Meech was denied a state berth by being pinned by Roseau's Ben Olson in :53 in a true-second match. Olson was rated No. 7 in the state poll.

Gator Bettin posted an 11-3 major decision over Fertile-Beltrami's Gabe Horgeshimer in the quarterfinals at 170 before suffering an 8-6 overtime loss to Red Lake County Central's Tristyn Ferguson in the semifinals. Bettin finished third with a 7-1 decision over Fosston/Bagley's Dane Schoenborn and a 4-2 decision over BGMR's Joe DeZelar.

Jared Seibert used three pins to place third at 285. Seibert pinned Mahnomen-Waubun's Logan Bendickson in 52 seconds before dropping a 2-0 decision to BGMR's Zach Evans in the semifinals. Evans was rated No. 7 in state. After pinning RLCC's George Duden in 1:44 and Fosston/Bagley's Axel Munter in 2:48, Seibert was denied a state trip with a 2-1 overtime loss to Frazee's Tony Malikowski in a true-second match. Malikowski was rated No. 6 in the state.

Also placing for the Warriors were Dylan Rasmussen (fourth at 126), Hank Tellers (fourth at 132), Torrey Carlson (sixth at 152) and Brock Kako (fifth at 195).

Hendrickson, Tellers and Ness will open the state Class A tournament March 1 at the Xcel Energy Center in St. Paul.

Smith qualifies


Walker-Hackensack-Akeley/Nevis' Austin Smith qualified for state with a runner-up finish at 182 at the Section 7A meet at Ogilvie on Feb. 23.

Smith was pinned by Blackduck/Cass Lake-Bena's Mason Smid in 4:42 in the title match before rebounding to defeat Royalton-Upsala's Gage Lauden in a true-second match. Smith will carry a 32-13 record to state.

Also placing for the Wolves were Dawson McGee (sixth at 103), Carter Rettke (sixth at 132), Alex Hein (tied for eighth at 138), Kenner Bell (tied for eighth at 145), Drew Erickson (sixth at 152) and Colton Jacob (tied for eighth at 160).

Related Topics: WRESTLING
1982 Dawson-Boyd High School graduate
1987 Moorhead State University graduate
Sports reporter for Park Rapids Enterprise since 1987
What To Read Next
The Detroit Lakes-based collective also includes players from Frazee-Vergas, Perham, New York Mills and Park Rapids.
Warm temperatures and partial sun greeted 33 drivers, crews and riders for the opening day. Plus, a huge gathering of fans looked on in the special area created for fans’ viewing pleasure.
If accepted, the school would join Barnesville, Breckenridge, Dilworth-Glyndon-Felton, Hawley, Frazee, Pelican Rapids and Perham in 2024-25.
Katy Bloomquist Freitag of Park Rapids and Ryan Rogers of Bemidji finish the grueling competition.