Park Rapids qualified a singles player and a doubles team to the semifinals of the Section 8A girls tennis tournament during play at Fargo’s Courts Plus on Wednesday, Oct. 13..

Abby Morris, the No. 2 seed in singles, received a first-round bye before defeating No. 7 Hannan Lindemoen of Crookston 6-3, 6-2 in the quarterfinals. Mickey Clark and Macy Goochey entered doubles as the No. 4 seed and opened with a 6-1, 6-0 win over No. 13 Maddie Becker and Alexis Becker of Long Prairie-Grey Eagle in the first round before eliminating No. 5 Elizabeth DiGiovanni and Ronnie Noska of Staples-Motley 6-2, 6-3 in the quarterfinals.

Morris will play No. 3 Madison Packer of Wadena-Deer Creek while Clark and Goochey will face Crookston’s Halle Winjum and Hayden Winjum, the No. 1 seed, in the semifinals at Fargo’s Courts Plus on Tuesday (Oct. 19) starting at 9 a.m. No. 1 Lauren Rutten of Staples-Motley meets No. 5 Brekken Tull of Crookston in the other semifinal singles match while No. 2 Emma Osborn and Emma Gunderson of Crookston play No. 3 Corra Endres and Anna Fiemeyer of Wadena-Deer Creek in the other semifinal doubles match.

In the other opening round matches, Park Rapids’ Rachael Herman received the No. 9 seed in singles and defeated No. 9 Madison Verbout 6-1, 6-3 before being eliminated with a 6-1, 6-0 loss to Rutten in the quarterfinals. In doubles, Park Rapids’ Emily Schulz and Morgan Koppelman received the No. 9 seed and defeated Alyssa Thelen and Emily Press of Long Prairie-Grey Eagle (the No. 8 seed) 6-4, 6-1 before being eliminated by the Winjum sisters 6-2, 6-2 in the quarterfinals.