It was another successful 5K fundraiser for the Park Rapids boys and girls track and field teams and boys and girls cross-country teams.

The 41st annual Firecracker Footrace saw 616 runners and walkers sign up for the annual 5K event on Thursday, July 4. Proceeds from the race, which started and ended at Park Rapids’ Heartland Park, benefit the track and cross-country teams. 

Last year’s race drew 409 participants, which was the lowest number since 407 runners and walkers kicked off the 4th of July in 2008. This year’s event featured the fifth biggest turnout over the last decade, trailing the record 780 participants in 2015, 754 in 2014, 716 in 2013 and 638 in 2012.

A total of 295 men and 321 women signed up for the certified USATF fast course. A kids fun run followed the 5K race.

Minneapolis’ Patrick Larson won the men’s title in 15:40 while Zimmerman’s Caleb Appleton was second in 15:49 and Menahga’s Isaiah Warning took third in 16:25. Appleton won last year’s race in 15:44 while Larson took third in 16:08.

In the women’s division, Park Rapids’ Lydia Kantonen claimed the title in 19:53. Brooke Benson of Chanhassen was second in 20:26 and Erin Schwartz of St. Anthony was third in 20:37. Ashley Stevens of Windsor Heights led the pack last year in 20:14.

Age division winners were Dylan Koss of Hudson, Wisconsin, in 21:36 (male 12-under), Addison Reams of Park Rapids in 23:54 (female 12-under), Alex Means of Danville, Indiana, in 17:42 (male 13-15), Anna Lien of Fargo, North Dakota, in 20:45 (female 13-15), Cole Nowacki of East Grand Forks in 16:53 (male 16-18), Allison Pachunka of Omaha, Nebraska, in 22:03 (female 16-18), Larson (male 19-29), Kantonen (female 19-29), Joshua Warmbold of Clearbrook in 19:33 (male 30-39), Schwartz (female 30-39), Ed Ruppert of Pottstown, Pennsylvania, in 19:31 (male 40-49), Cristy Risberg of Glyndon in 22:45 (female 40-49), Kurt Devine of Little Falls in 19:42 (male 50-59), Cheryl Zitur of Corcoran in 21:13 (female 50-59), Dale Heinen of Shoreview in 23:13 (male 60-69), Regina Theisen of Park Rapids in 29:07 (female 60-69), Dale Summers of Fargo, North Dakota, in 24:28 (male 70-over) and Dodie Egge of Park Rapids in 52:40 (female 70-over).

There were 45 finishers in the male 12-under division, 50 in the female 12-under division, 37 in the male 13-15 age division, 28 in the female 13-15 age division, 24 in the male 16-18 age division, 16 in the female 16-18 age division, 28 in the male 19-29 age division, 40 in the female 19-29 age division, 51 in the male 30-39 age division, 51 in the female 30-39 age division, 48 in the male 40-49 age division, 50 in the female 40-49 age division, 36 in the male 50-59 age division, 32 in the female 50-59 age division, 13 in the male 60-69 age division, 11 in the female 60-69 age division, six in the male 70-over age division and two in the female 70-over age division. Runners from 23 states competed in this year’s Firecracker Footrace.

Following are the top 10 finishers in each age division. Complete results can be found at