Wrestling: 4 Warriors capture Park Region Conference titles

United North Central places third in the team standings.

BD-Wrestling Graph.jpg

SEBEKA – Four United North Central wrestlers captured titles at the Park Region Conference tournament on Saturday, Feb. 5.

Ethan Hendrickson at 152 pounds, Eion Ness at 160, Torrey Carlson at 195 and Marcus Peterson at 285 finished first in leading the Warriors to third place in the team standings with 192 points. West Central Area won the team title with 225 points while Long Prairie-Grey Eagle/Browerville was second with 207.50 points.

Hank Tellers finished second at 145 while Aaron Lake (at 126) and Cooper Hasbargen (at 220) took third. Also placing for the Warriors were Conrad Koll (fourth at 106), Zack Davidson (sixth at 113), Zach Hendrickson (fifth at 120), Spencer Erickson (fourth at 132), Dylan Rasmussen (fifth at 138), Mason Plautz (fourth at 170) and Shawn Hendrickson (fourth at 182).

Team scores: West Central Area/Ashby/Brandon-Evansville 225, Long Prairie-Grey Eagle/Browerville 207.50, United North Central 192, Bertha-Hewitt/Verndale/Parkers Prairie 124, New York Mills 116, Osakis 73.50, Ottertail Central 73.50, Wadena-Deer Creek 24.

United North Central results

Conrad Koll (106): pinned Creed Mursu, NYM, 3:17; pinned by Owen Gruchow, WCA, 4:31; won major decision over Colby Twardowski, LPGEB, 11-0; pinned by Justin Olson, BHVPP, 2:48 (4th).

Zack Davidson (113): pinned Julian Umlauf, OTC, 3:23; lost major decision to Carter Lohse, WCA, 11-0; pinned by Preston Captain, BHVPP, 4:33; pinned by Umlauf :38 (6th).

Zach Hendrickson (120): pinned by Bennet Arceneau, BHVPP, 3:09; pinned by Adam Lohse, WCA, 4:40 (5th).

Aaron Lake (126): pinned by David Revering, BHVPP, 5:07; pinned Mason Richter, WCA, 5:02 (3rd).

Spencer Erickson (132): won major decision over Jay Mindermann, NYM, 9-0; pinned by Braden Thom, LPGEB, 2:21; lost minor decision to Deagen Captain, BHVPP, 4-2 (ot) (4th).

Dylan Rasmussen (138): lost minor decision to Omar Zamora, LPGEB, 11-4; pinned by Solomon Wales, WCA, 4:14; won 15-0 technical fall over Brandt Malone, NYM, 4:49 (5th).

Hank Tellers (145): pinned Holden Truax, BHVPP, 1:42; won minor decision over Simon Snyder, NYM, 9-4; lost minor decision to Reubens Swanson, WCA, 3-1 (2nd).

Ethan Hendrickson (152): won 21-4 technical fall over Ezekiel Sieckert, WCA, 5:58; pinned Dane Niemi, NYM, 3:47; won minor decision over Landon Gode, LPGEB, 4-3 (1st).

Eion Ness (160): won major decision over Tucker Zigan, LPGEB, 12-0; pinned Tyson Hagedon, O, :53; pinned Jaxon Rich, OTC, 2:50 (1st).

Mason Plautz (170): pinned by Tate Twardowski, LPGEB, 1:35; pinned Kaleb Helberg, O, 4:18; won minor decision over Blake Unger, NYM, 11-10; lost 15-0 technical fall to Twardowski 4:00 (4th).

Shawn Hendrickson (182): lost major decision to Bren Salo, NYM, 9-0; lost minor decision to Andrew Recknor, LPGEB, 6-4.(4th).

Torrey Carlson (195): pinned Braden Shamp, BHVPP, 1:36; pinned Will Rustan, WCA, 3:28 (1st).

Cooper Hasbargen (220): lost major decision to Colton Lindquist, WCA, 9-1; won minor decision over Alex Line, LPGEB, 5-4 (3rd).

Marcus Peterson (285): won minor decision over Justin Blascyk, WCA, 7-2; won minor decision over Trey Lancaster, LPGEB, 3-2 (ot) (1st).

McGee wins titles

FERTILE – Dawson McGee captured the 120-pound title and Callen Whitney won the title at 132 as the Walker-Hackensack-Akeley/Nevis wrestling team placed ninth at the Northwest Invitational on Saturday, Feb. 5.

Ficher Smith placed second at 160 and Nathan Keiser finished sixth at 220 as WHAN compiled 68 points. Thief River Falls won the team title in this 12-team tournament with 214.50 points.


McGee also captured the 120-pound title as WHAN finished seventh at the Wolf Pack Invitational at Walker on Jan. 28.

Adding runner-up finishes for WHAN were Whitney at 132 and Smith at 160. Also placing for WHAN were Keiser (third at 220), Phillip Crocker (fourth at 285), Riley Johnson (fifth at 170), Dylan Hedren (sixth at 220) and Dane Patten (sixth at 285).

WHAN compiled 78 points in this 10-team meet. Thief River Falls topped the standings with 211.50 points.

1982 Dawson-Boyd High School graduate
1987 Moorhead State University graduate
Sports reporter for Park Rapids Enterprise since 1987
What To Read Next
The Panthers defeat Ely and Northern Lakes to improve record to 11-5.
Halle Landstrom takes first in vault to lead the Panthers.
The Tigers improve to 12-2 overall with a 47-30 home victory.
The Warriors defeat Crookston, fall to Frazee in a pair of matches against Section 8A opponents.