SUBSCRIBE NOW Just 99¢ for your first month



Track and Field: United North Central competes at Section 6A True Team meet

Connor Korvela and Tyler Shepersky win individual titles for the Warriors.

Track logo.jpg
We are part of The Trust Project.

PELICAN RAPIDS – Connor Korvela took first in two events in leading the United North Central boys track and field team at the Section 6A True Team meet on Tuesday, May 10.

Korvela won the 800-meter run in 2:07.31 and finished first in the long jump with a distance of 19 feet, 11.25 inches as the Warriors finished 12th in the boys meet with 436 points. Pelican Rapids won the team title with 966 points with Staples-Motley (865) and Wadena-Deer Creek (802) following in the 14-team field.

Tyler Shepersky finished first in three wheelchair races by clocking times of 18.72 in the 100, 2:16.96 in the 800 and 4:43.11 in the 1,600. Christian Johnson, Marco Alles, Alex Treinen and Casey Blixt finished third in the 4 x 200 relay in 1:38.76 while Alec Aho, Johnson, Teagen Lee and Korvela clocked a 3:47.50 for third place in the 4 x 400 relay. Blixt placed ninth in the 100 in 12.07 and Aho took 10th in the high jump at 5-8.

Janie Tormanen placed third in the long jump at 15-0.75 and fourth in the 400 in 1:04.32 in leading the UNC girls to 11th place with 452 points. Osakis won the girls team title with 852 points with Barnesville (829) and Frazee (793) following.

Other top performances for the Warriors in the girls meet were turned in by Anjalie Aho (seventh in the 800 in 2:31.68), Cailynn Gaughan (tied for ninth in the high jump at 4-6) and Jenna Seibert (10th in the shot put at 29-0.50).


1982 Dawson-Boyd High School graduate
1987 Moorhead State University graduate
Sports reporter for Park Rapids Enterprise since 1987
What to read next
Park Rapids hosts Warroad, Menahga hosts Cass Lake-Bena and Nevis travels to Pine River-Backus.
Dilworth-Glyndon-Felton shuts out Panthers in Section 8AA contest.
United North Central, Walker-Hackensack-Akeley top boys field in Northern Pines Conference play.
Sam Reish, Abby Morris, Holly Johnson and Tristan Hill receive top athletic honors.