Clay Target: Park Rapids Clay Dusters place 15th among 3A teams at State Championship

Menahga Bird Busters finish 6th among 1A teams at State Championship

We are part of The Trust Project.

ALEXANDRIA – Andrew Bittmann and Cooper Sharp hit 94 out of 100 targets to lead the way as the Park Rapids Clay Dusters finished 15th among the 41 Conference 3A teams at the Minnesota State High School Clay Target League State Trapshooting Championship at the Alexandria Shooting Park on June 15.

Aaron McDonald (92), Brent Ohm (91) and Ridglley Clark (91) rounded out Park Rapids’ 468 team score. Wayzata topped the conference standings with a 492. Brandon-Evansville was second in the conference at 481 and Elk River was third at 480.

Bittmann and Sharp tied for 42nd, McDonald tied for 84th, and Ohm and Clark tied for 91st among the 352 male competitors. Rounding out Park Rapids’ varsity were Alex Eischens (90), McKenzie Girtz (90), Avery Kapaun (89), Hunter Bozovsky (88) and Isaac Zinniel (83). Eischens tied for 126th, Kapaun tied for 138th, Bozovsky tied for 158th and Zinniel tied for 242nd among the males while Girtz tied for 13th among the 39 females in the conference.

Competing in the Junior Varsity Division for the Clay Dusters were Silas Carter (89), Cameron Swanson (89), Ethan Tate (89), Maxwell Harju (83), Derek May (83), Frank Southerton (82), Adrian Ahmann (66) and Logan Andersen (46). The Novice Division competitors for Park Rapids were Maggie Kay Carter (63), Grace McCloud (57) and Evelyn McCloud (12).

Wayzata’s Davis Hay was the top male shooter with a perfect 100 while Spring Grove’s Ashlyn Hammel and Wayzata’s Madi Schultz led the females with 98s.


The State Championship was a qualifier for the MSHSL State Championship, which will be held June 24 at the Minneapolis Gun Club in Prior Lake. The top 40 teams among all nine conferences qualify for the State Championship. There were more than 7,800 competitors during the nine days of competition at Alexandria.

Menahga takes 6th

ALEXANDRIA – Toby Isola’s 95 led the way as the Menahga Bird Busters finished sixth among the 68 Class A teams with a 458 at the Minnesota Clay Target League Championship at the Alexandria Shooting Club on June 13.

Tanner Trombley’s 93, Dalton Gartner’s 91, Fordyce Johnson’s 90 and Alex Treinen’s 89 rounded out the Bird Busters’ team score. Erica Johnson (85) and Adam Spadgenske (83) also competed on Varsity. There were 251 males and 28 females competing in the Class A Varsity Division.

Menahga’s Junior Varsity competitors were Cooper Hasbargen (84), Jake Haugen (84), Skyler Neels (83), Seth Spadgenske (80), Hunter Rasmussen (77), Matthew Treinen (74), Chris Kicker (66) and Jordyn Novak (59). Competing in the Novice Division were Devyana Pedersen (82) and Braden Koons (81).

Clinton-Graceville-Beardsley’s Charles Kleindl topped the males with a 98 while Goodridge’s Paige Burns was the top female with a 99. Goodridge won the Class A title with a 478 with Cathedral (472), Richfield (467), John Marshall (464) and Legacy Christian Academy (461) following.

1982 Dawson-Boyd High School graduate
1987 Moorhead State University graduate
Sports reporter for Park Rapids Enterprise since 1987
What to read next
The Panthers tied for fourth place in the Mid-State Conference standings.
The Tigers finished fourth in the Upper Mississippi Conference standings.
Wadena follows a 4-1 win in the first game with a 10-1 victory in the second game.
Qualifying for state highlighted a 16-11 season.