Pequot Lakes sweeps titles at Menahga

The United North Central boys and girls cross country teams competed in their third and final home meet.

Anjalie Aho was the top runner for the United North Central cross country team by finishing third overall in 19:54 at Menahga on Thursday, Sept. 17. Vance Carlson / Enterprise

Pequot Lakes had five runners finish in the top 10 spots in both races to sweep titles at the third and final United North Central cross country meet at Menahga on Thursday, Sept. 17.

In the girls race, Calia Chaney led the field with a winning time of 18:53 on the 5K course at the Menahga High School. Chaney was rated No. 7 in the latest state Class A poll. Carly Chaney (fourth in 20:24), Rian Zutter (fifth in 20:29), Elisa Flaws (sixth in 21:31) and Emma Flaws (eighth in 21:57) followed as Pequot Lakes compiled 24 points. The Patriots were rated No. 5 in the state Class A team poll.

Anjalie Aho led United North Central to runner-up honors by placing third overall in 19:54. Kaarin Lehto was seventh in 21:50, Kate Hendrickson finished ninth in 21:57, Gabby Hrdlicka placed 10th in 22:04 and Joanna Lehto took 12th in 23:12 to complete the Warriors’ team score of 41 points. Mattea Smith (16th in 23:55) and Alessandra Matson (17th in 24:20) rounded out UNC’s varsity. Long Prairie-Grey Eagle finished third with 68 points.

Ethan Johnson (17:22), Jesse Clausen (17:35) and Eli Hall (17:41) led the field in leading Pequot Lakes to the boys title with 19 points. Dawson Ackerman (fifth in 17:59) and Eli Laposky (eighth in 18:09) rounded out the Patriots’ winning team score.

LP-GE compiled 58 points to edge UNC’s team total of 61 for second place. Leading the Warriors on the 5K course were Andreas Aho (sixth in 18:05) and Connor Korvela (seventh in 18:07). Rounding out UNC’s team score were Sam Jackola (11th in 20:49), Wesley Hodge (18th in 22:51) and Henry Hultberg (19th in 29:57).


“Our boys and girls ran great. We are seeing so much improvement meet after meet. Plus we are also seeing a lot of young runners step up,” said UNC head coach Nick Jasmer. “It seems that every time we run on this course we get faster and faster. Our runners have really enjoyed running on our own course several times this year. They actually kind of wanted to run it one more time this season.”

The Warriors will conclude the regular season by running against LP-GE and Pillager at Madden’s Pine Beach West Golf Course on Thursday (Sept. 24) and facing Lake Park-Audubon at Wadena’s Whitetail Golf Course on Oct. 1. UNC will then prepare for the Park Region Conference meet at Wadena on Oct. 8.

“With a couple meets left before conference and a possible subsection/section meet, we are going to keep focusing on getting faster and holding those paces during a race,” said Jasmer. “We will also keep working on getting stronger as that has been a big focus for us this year.”

Girls team scores: Pequot Lakes 24, United North Central 41, Long Prairie-Grey Eagle 68.
Individual results
1, Calia Chaney, PL, 18:53. 2, Caroline Kuehne, LPGE, 19:16. 3, Anjalie Aho, UNC, 19:54. 4, Carly Chaney, PL, 20:24. 5, Rian Zutter, PL, 20:29. 6, Elisa Flaws, PL, 21:31. 7, Kaarin Lehto, UNC, 21:50. 8, Emma Flaws, PL, 21:57. 9, Kate Hendrickson, UNC, 22:04. 10, Gabby Hrdlicka, UNC, 22:52. 12, Joanna Lehto, UNC, 23:12. 16, Mattea Smith, UNC, 23:55. 17, Alessandra Matson, UNC, 24:20. JV: Lora Isaacson, UNC, 24:43; Maci Lake, UNC, 24:48; Avery Haman, UNC, 24:51; Hope Shepersky, UNC, 25:07; Rachael Smith, UNC, 27:03; Eva Erickson, UNC, 29:41.
Boys team scores: Pequot Lakes 19, Long Prairie-Grey Eagle 58, United North Central 61.
Individual results
1, Ethan Johnson, PL, 17:22. 2, Jesse Clausen, PL, 17:35. 3, Eli Hall, PL, 17:41. 4, Joe Liebsch, LPGE, 17:47. 5, Dawson Ackerman, PL, 17:59. 6, Andreas Aho, UNC, 18:05. 7, Connor Korvela, UNC, 18:07. 8, Eli Laposky, PL, 18:09. 9, Collin Yahn, PL, 18:31. 10, Charlie Schiessl, PL, 18:38. 11, Sam Jackola, UNC, 20:49. 18, Wesley Hodge, UNC, 22:51. 19, Henry Hultberg, UNC, 29:57.
Junior high girls (2,500 meters): 1, Addison Headley, PL, 12:38. 4, Emma Isaacson, UNC, 13:11. 5, Elsa Komppa, UNC, 13:12. 6, Annika Pulju, UNC, 13:36. 8, Erica Johnson, UNC, 13:49.

1982 Dawson-Boyd High School graduate
1987 Moorhead State University graduate
Sports reporter for Park Rapids Enterprise since 1987
What To Read Next
Get Local