Park Rapids 9th grade boys qualify for state

Team will play in Minnesota Pacesetter Youth Basketball State Championship on June 13.


The Park Rapids 9th grade boys basketball traveling team captured the title at the Region 8 Pacesetter tournament at Hill City and Remer on April 24-25 to qualify for the Minnesota Pacesetter Youth Basketball State Championship at Monticello on June 13.

Members of the team were (front from left) Blake Morris, Noah Phillippi, Noah Morris, Landon Strasburg, Noah Huot; (back) coach Jason Haas, Ridglley Clark, Owen VanBatavia, Matt Johanning, Noah Larson, Alex Brewer, Jack Moses. Not pictured: Jose Martinez-Nava.

1982 Dawson-Boyd High School graduate
1987 Moorhead State University graduate
Sports reporter for Park Rapids Enterprise since 1987
What To Read Next
The Detroit Lakes-based collective also includes players from Frazee-Vergas, Perham, New York Mills and Park Rapids.
Warm temperatures and partial sun greeted 33 drivers, crews and riders for the opening day. Plus, a huge gathering of fans looked on in the special area created for fans’ viewing pleasure.
If accepted, the school would join Barnesville, Breckenridge, Dilworth-Glyndon-Felton, Hawley, Frazee, Pelican Rapids and Perham in 2024-25.
Katy Bloomquist Freitag of Park Rapids and Ryan Rogers of Bemidji finish the grueling competition.