Panthers, Warriors ousted in quarterfinals

Park Rapids and United North Central were eliminated in the quarterfinals of the Section 8A wrestling tournament at Thief River Falls last Saturday. Park Rapids, the No. 5 seed, forfeited at three weights in a 43-36 loss to No. 4 Dilworth-Glyndon...

Park Rapids and United North Central were eliminated in the quarterfinals of the Section 8A wrestling tournament at Thief River Falls last Saturday.

Park Rapids, the No. 5 seed, forfeited at three weights in a 43-36 loss to No. 4 Dilworth-Glyndon-Felton while UNC, the No. 6 seed, lost to No. 3 Crookston 52-16.

No. 1 Frazee defeated DGF 69-6 while No. 2 Badger/Greenbush-Middle River eliminated Crookston 45-22 in the semifinals. Frazee won the section title and a state berth with a 48-15 win over BGMR.

Forfeits cost Panthers

Five pins by the Panthers weren't enough to offset the three forfeits as D-G-F advanced.


Ben Baumgartner's pin in 30 seconds at 112 pounds and Laine Jensen's forfeit win at 125 gave the Panthers a 12-12 tie.

D-G-F won the next two matches to claim a 24-12 lead before Zachary Steffen's pin in 17 seconds at 140, Zac Haugland's pin in 1:52 at 152 and Danny Pike's pin in 1:57 at 171 pulled Park Rapids to within 34-30.

The Rebels sealed the win by winning the next two matches. Brandon Ritter's pin in 2:19 in the heavyweight match concluded the scoring as the Panthers ended the season with a 10-12 record in dual meets.

D-G-F 43, Park Rapids 36

103: Cameron Greenley, DGF, won by forfeit. 112: Ben Baumgartner, PR, pinned Wyatt Whiteaker :30. 119: Alex Johnson, DGF, won by forfeit. 125: Laine Jensen, PR, won by forfeit. 130: Chad Johnson, DGF, pinned Noah Schulz 1:37. 135: Cole Sogge, DGF, won by forfeit. 140: Zachary Steffen, PR, pinned Tanner Henen :17. 145: Ryan Hamernik, DGF, pinned Adam Branstrom 4:31. 152: Zac Haugland, PR, pinned Austin Hawk 1:52. 160: Scott Kern, DGF, major decision over Kevin Just 15-6. 171: Danny Pike, PR, pinned Jacob Oschner 1:57. 189: Shawn Johnson, DGF, pinned Robert Borger :47. 215: Mason Remund, DGF, minor decision over Cole Tretbar 2-0. 285: Brandon Ritter, PR, pinned Jake Hanson 2:19.

Upper weights spark Pirates

The Pirates won six of the final seven matches to seal the win over UNC.

Tommy Tellers' 14-5 major decision at 103 gave UNC a quick 4-0 lead before Crookston won the next five matches to build a 19-4 cushion.


Mike Johnson's pin in 3:35 at 140 made it 19-10 before the Pirates used three straight pins to extend their lead to 37-10.

After Taylor Carlson's pin in 5:29 at 171, Crookston ended the match with a pair of forfeits and a minor decision.

Crookston 52, United North Central 16

103: Tommy Tellers, UNC, major decision over Kyle Caputo 14-5. 112: Shad Steer, C, minor decision over Micah Aho 4-1. 119: Nate Berten, C, major decision over Brody Benson 16-3. 125: Cody Weiland, C, minor decision over Jake Malone 10-8. 130: Zane Baranski, C, pinned Sam Tellers 5:39. 135: Wyatt Hanson, C, minor decision over Max Pajari 5-4. 140: Mike Johnson, UNC, pinned Cody Erickson 3:35. 145: Blake Bergerson, C, pinned Tristan Palmer 1:21. 152: Anthony Caputo, C, pinned Teague Neuman 1:37. 160: Cody Osland, C, pinned Dylan Huttunen 3:06. 171: Taylor Carlson, UNC, pinned Blake Erickson 5:29. 189: Josh Edlund, C, won by forfeit. 215: Brody Davidson, C, won by forfeit. 285: Ethan Pilger, C, minor decision over Bryson Vasey 6-2.

Wolves eliminated by TRF

At last Saturday's Section 8AA tournament at Thief River Falls, Walker-Hackensack-Akeley/Nevis opened with a 58-18 win over United Clay Becker before being eliminated by Thief River Falls 51-22 in the quarterfinals.

WHAN, the No. 6 seed, used four pins and four forfeits to defeat No. 11 United Clay Becker.

Pins by Daniel Stacey (at 112 pounds), Devlin Campbell (at 135), Collin Huckbody (at 160) and Joe Anderson (at 171) and forfeit wins by Keevin White (at 119), Devin Wicks (at 140), Christopher Zimmer (at 189) and Nick Fisher (at heavyweight) led the Wolves to the win.


Also posting wins for the Wolves were Charles Oothoudt at 103, Blake Wiemann at 145 and Garret Edelman at 215.

Thief River Falls used six pins to eliminate the Wolves in the quarterfinals.

Charles Oothoudts's pin at 103, Campbell's 6-1 minor decision at 140, Wiemann's 11-1 major decision at 152, Huckbody's 10-4 minor decision at 160 and Zimmer's pin at 189 accounted for Wolves' points.

Thief River Falls, the No. 3 seed, defeated No. 2 Perham 38-16 and No. 1 Staples-Motley 41-25 to win the section title.

WHAN 58, United Clay Becker 18

103: Charles Oothoudt, WHAN, major decision over Jerrit Lange 9-1. 112: Daniel Stacey, WHAN, pinned Nick Wamre 3:30. 119: Keevin White, WHAN, won by forfeit. 125: Sam Klingfus, UCB, pinned Roman Oothoudt :42. 130: Logan Gage, UCB, pinned Jeremy Miller :43. 135: Devlin Campbell, WHAN, pinned Robert Wallace 3:31. 140: Devin Wicks, WHAN, won by forfeit. 145: Blake Wiemann, WHAN, minor decision over Wyatt Wixo 5-0. 152: Derek Bruseth, UCB, pinned Truman Crandall :54. 160: Collin Huckbody, WHAN, pinned Elijah Beaudine 4:04. 171: Joe Anderson, WHAN, pinned Alex Lindsay 3:31. 189: Christopher Zimmer, WHAN, won by forfeit. 215: Garret Edelman, WHAN, minor decision over Mat Pepper 7-1. 285: Nick Fisher, WHAN, won by forfeit.

Thief River Falls 51, WHAN 22

103: Charles Oothoudt, WHAN, pinned Stephen Holecek 2:45. 112: Noah Bernier, TRF, pinned Daniel Stacey :55. 119: Austin Hjelle, TRF, pinned Roman Oothoudt :56. 125: Jacoby Bergeron, TRF, won by forfeit. 130: Chaz Abrahamson, TRF, pinned Jeremy Miller :24. 135: Holden Nelson, TRF, won by forfeit. 140: Devin Campbell, WHAN, minor decision over Nolan Dyrdal 6-1. 145: Nathaniel Holecek, TRF, pinned Devin Wicks. 152: Blake Wiemann, WHAN, major decision over Cody Bannert 11-1. 160: Collin Huckbody, WHAN, minor decision over Logan Alten 10-4. 171: Craig Williams, TRF, pinned Joe Anderson. 189: Christopher Zimmer, WHAN, pinned Travis Dagen 3:46. 215: Jon Erickson, TRF, pinned Nick Fisher. 285: Nick Cervantes, TRF, minor decision over Garret Edelman 9-4.

Related Topics: WRESTLING
1982 Dawson-Boyd High School graduate
1987 Moorhead State University graduate
Sports reporter for Park Rapids Enterprise since 1987
What To Read Next
The Detroit Lakes-based collective also includes players from Frazee-Vergas, Perham, New York Mills and Park Rapids.
Warm temperatures and partial sun greeted 33 drivers, crews and riders for the opening day. Plus, a huge gathering of fans looked on in the special area created for fans’ viewing pleasure.
If accepted, the school would join Barnesville, Breckenridge, Dilworth-Glyndon-Felton, Hawley, Frazee, Pelican Rapids and Perham in 2024-25.
Katy Bloomquist Freitag of Park Rapids and Ryan Rogers of Bemidji finish the grueling competition.