Panthers pin way to win over Wolves

Park Rapids wrestling team uses four pins and five forfeits to spark 54-30 victory.

Park Rapids' Matt Dahring went for a reversal against WHAN's Eli Johnson during their 126-pound match at the Century School gym on Tuesday, Dec. 10. The Panthers used four pins and five forfeits for a 54-30 victory. Vance Carlson / Enterprise

Pins by Robby Sherk, Damian Snyder, Joe Stachowski and Hunter Carnell sparked the Park Rapids wrestling team to a 54-30 victory over Walker-Hackensack-Akeley/Nevis at the Century School gym on Tuesday, Dec. 10.

Sherk opened the dual meet with a takedown to set up a pin at the 1:36 mark in the 106-pound match to give Park Rapids a 6-0 lead.

The Wolves responded with four wins in the next five matches as Dawson McGee’s pin in 1:09 at 113, Callen Whitney’s pin in 1:50 at 120, Eli Johnson’s pin in 3:20 at 126 and Alex Hein’s pin in 1:00 at 138 produced a 24-12 advantage. Henry Thorson received a forfeit win at 132 for Park Rapids during that stretch.

A pin and four forfeits in the next five matches put the Panthers in control. Damian Snyder’s quick takedown led to a pin in 37 seconds at 145 before forfeit wins by Taten Morton at 152, Joe Klein at 160, Kaden Safratowich at 170 and Harley Wellman at 182 gave Park Rapids a 42-24 lead.

After Kolby Hamblin’s pin in 39 seconds at 195 for the Wolves ended Park Rapids’ run, the Panthers closed the meet with Joe Stachowski’s pin in 1:47 at 220 and Hunter Carnell’s pin in 43 seconds at 285. Stachowski used a takedown and a reversal to set up his pin while Carnell used an early takedown to set up his pin.


The win gave the Panthers a 1-3 record in dual meets while W-H-A/N fell to 1-2.

Park Rapids 54, Walker-Hackensack-Akeley/Nevis 30
106: Robby Sherk, PR, pinned Dylan Johnson 1:36. 113: Dawson McGee, WHAN, pinned Gunner Zeitz 1:09. 120: Callen Whitney, WHAN, pinned Eli Burton 1:50. 126: Eli Johnson, WHAN, pinned Matt Dahring 3:20. 132: Henry Thorson, PR, won by forfeit. 138: Alex Hein, WHAN, pinned Lucas Kritzeck 1:00. 145: Damian Snyder, PR, pinned Riley Johnson :37. 152: Taten Horton, PR, won by forfeit. 160: Joe Klein, PR, won by forfeit. 170: Kaden Safratowich, PR, won by forfeit. 182: Harley Wellman, PR, won by forfeit. 195: Kolby Hamblin, WHAN, pinned Tristan Hill :39. 220: Joe Stachowski, PR, pinned Ficher Smith 1:47. 285: Hunter Carnell, PR, pinned Connor Andress :43.

Park Rapids' Damian Snyder controlled WHAN's Riley Johnson during their 145-pound match at the Century School gym on Tuesday, Dec. 10. Vance Carlson / Enterprise

Related Topics: WRESTLING
1982 Dawson-Boyd High School graduate
1987 Moorhead State University graduate
Sports reporter for Park Rapids Enterprise since 1987
What To Read Next
The Detroit Lakes-based collective also includes players from Frazee-Vergas, Perham, New York Mills and Park Rapids.
Warm temperatures and partial sun greeted 33 drivers, crews and riders for the opening day. Plus, a huge gathering of fans looked on in the special area created for fans’ viewing pleasure.
If accepted, the school would join Barnesville, Breckenridge, Dilworth-Glyndon-Felton, Hawley, Frazee, Pelican Rapids and Perham in 2024-25.
Katy Bloomquist Freitag of Park Rapids and Ryan Rogers of Bemidji finish the grueling competition.