Panthers open season with win over Aitkin

Pine City, Minnewaska Area post wins over Park Rapids girls tennis team

Natalie Harvey returned a backhand during a No. 4 singles match against Pine City in the Panthers' season opener at the Century School courts on Friday, Aug. 16. Vance Carlson / Enteprrise

Macy Goochey and Morgan Koppelman won two matches at No. 2 doubles to lead the Park Rapids girls tennis team to a 1-2 record in the season-opening North vs. South Challenge at the Century School courts and Depot Courts on Friday, Aug. 16.

The Panthers opened the season with a 6-1 loss to Pine City before rebounding for a 5-2 win over Aitkin. Minnewaska Area blanked Park Rapids 7-0 in the final dual meet at the Century School courts. Crookston, Moorhead, Mound-Westonka and Roseau were the other teams competing.

Goochey and Koppelman prevailed in a third-set super tiebreaker to account for Park Rapids’ lone win in the dual against Pine City.

Jada Renneberg and Mickey Clark dropped a third-set tiebreaker at No. 1 doubles while Cassidy Bera and Taylor Dravis lost in two close sets at No. 3 doubles. Pine City swept the four singles matches in straight sets.

The Panthers used a sweep in singles to spark the win over Aitkin.


Abby Morris at No. 1 singles, Herman at No. 2 singles, Bera at No. 3 singles and Emily Schulz at No. 4 singles prevailed in straight sets. Goochey and Koppelman prevailed in another third-set tiebreaker at No. 2 doubles.

Minnewaska Area posted four straight-set wins in singles and a pair of straight-set wins in doubles in shutting out the Panthers.

Renneberg and Herman lost in a third-set tiebreaker at No. 1 doubles for Park Rapids while Goochey and Koppelman dropped a first-set tiebreaker at No. 2 doubles.

Pine City 6, Park Rapids 1
No. 1 singles: Lydia Adams, PC, over Abby Morris 6-4, 6-3.
No. 2 singles: Ella Sell, PC, over Rachael Herman 6-2, 6-2.
No. 3 singles: Addison Sell, PC, over Emily Schulz 6-2, 6-2.
No. 4 singles: Claire Emmons, PC over Natalie Harvey 6-2, 7-5.
No. 1 doubles: Madisen Berglund/Kaitlyn Miller, PC, over Jada Renneberg/Mickey Clark 6-3, 3-6, 10-6.
No. 2 doubles: Macy Goochey/Morgan Koppelman, PR, over Allison Unverzagt/Sophia Lahti 2-6 6-4, 11-9.
No. 3 doubles: Malia Mikyska/Rhaya Merrick, PC, over Cassidy Bera/Taylor Dravis 7-5, 7-5.
Park Rapids 5, Aitkin 2
No. 1 singles: Abby Morris, PR, over Ellie Jindra 7-5, 6-2.
No. 2 singles: Rachael Herman, PR, over Grace Janzen 6-3, 7-6 (7-4).
No. 3 singles: Cassidy Bera, PR, over Breanna Hines 6-2, 6-3.
No. 4 singles: Emily Schulz, PR, over Katelyn Welle 6-2, 6-3.
No. 1 doubles: Brooke Hansen/Abby Monse, A, over Jada Renneberg/Mickey Clark 6-4, 6-4.
No. 2 doubles: Macy Goochey/Morgan Koppelman, PR, over Kelsi Welle/Sophie Ryan 6-2, 4-6, 10-8.
No. 3 doubles: Macy Daulbeck/Ashlyn Berg, A, over Taylor Dravis/Destiny Villarreal 6-4, 6-3.
Minnewaska Area 7, Park Rapids 0
No. 1 singles: Danielle Thorfinnson, MA, over Abby Morris 6-2, 6-2.
No. 2 singles: Alissa Thorfinnson, MA, over Mickey Clark 6-3, 7-5.
No. 3 singles: Greta Reichmann, MA, over Cassidy Bera 6-4, 6-2.
No. 4 singles: Maddie Thorfinnson, MA, over Natalie Harvey 6-3, 6-2.
No. 1 doubles: Karra Hanson/Annika Randt, MA, over Jada Renneberg/Rachael Herman 3-6, 6-3, 10-5.
No. 2 doubles: Addy Randt/Olivia Richards, MA, over Macy Goochey/Morgan Koppelman 7-6 (7-4), 6-3.
No. 3 doubles: Maddi Kluver/Annika Stensrud, MA, over Emily Schulz/Destiny Villarreal 6-2, 6-4.

Emily Schulz followed through on a forehand return during a straight-set win at No. 4 singles in the Panthers' 5-2 victory over Aitkin on Friday, Aug. 16. Vance Carlson / Enterprise

Related Topics: GIRLS TENNIS
1982 Dawson-Boyd High School graduate
1987 Moorhead State University graduate
Sports reporter for Park Rapids Enterprise since 1987
What To Read Next
The Detroit Lakes-based collective also includes players from Frazee-Vergas, Perham, New York Mills and Park Rapids.
Warm temperatures and partial sun greeted 33 drivers, crews and riders for the opening day. Plus, a huge gathering of fans looked on in the special area created for fans’ viewing pleasure.
If accepted, the school would join Barnesville, Breckenridge, Dilworth-Glyndon-Felton, Hawley, Frazee, Pelican Rapids and Perham in 2024-25.