Panthers crown three champs at TRF tourney

Ashton Clark, Nolan Booge and Justin Dravis captured individual titles as the Park Rapids wrestling team captured runner-up honors at Saturday's Thief River Falls Invitational.

Ashton Clark, Nolan Booge and Justin Dravis captured individual titles as the Park Rapids wrestling team captured runner-up honors at Saturday's Thief River Falls Invitational.

Clark, who opened with an 11-2 major decision and a 7-0 minor decision, defeated Quinn Kern of Bertha-Hewitt/Verndale/Parkers Prairie 6-1 in the championship match at 106 pounds.

In the 132-pound bracket, Booge reached the finals with a pin and an 8-2 minor decision before pinning Cole Johnson of Thief River Falls in 2:29 for the title.

Dravis pinned his way to the title at 160, defeating Noah Hawkins of Thief River Falls in 2:50 in the championship match.

Jared Sunram also wrestled for a title before dropping a 10-3 decision to Thief River Falls' Josh Bernier in the finals at 152.


Also placing for the Panthers were Cody Dravis (third at 170), Jack Hensel (fourth at 195), Zach Nelson (fifth at 182), Dwayne Johnson (fifth at 285), Jacob Bittmann (sixth at 220) and Kaden Safratowich (seventh at 120).

Thief River Falls topped the 17-team field with 160 points while Walker-Hackensack-Akeley/Nevis finished 13th with 40.50 points. Dillon McGee was the runner-up at 113, Kyle Schmidt took fifth at 160, Carter Rettke was sixth at 120 and Colton Jacob finished eighth at 145 for the Wolves.

Team scores: Thief River Falls 160, Park Rapids 155.50, Bertha-Hewitt/Verndale/Parkers Prairie 134, Bemidji 117.50, Blackduck/Cass Lake-Bena 111, Ottertail Central 108.50, Detroit Lakes 97, Crookston 79, New York Mills 77, Norwood-Young America 73, Roseau 69.50, Badger-Greenbush-Middle River 66, Walker-Hackensack-Akeley/Nevis 40.50, Nashwauk-Keewatin/Greenway 36, Red Lake County Central 11, Fertile-Beltrami 2, International Falls 0.

Championship matches

106: Ashton Clark, PR, minor decision over Quinn Kern, BHVPP, 6-1. 113: Ben Naddy, OTC, pinned Dillon McGee, WHAN, 3:47. 120: Cade Lundeen, TRF, pinned Justin Mattocks, BHVPP, 5:02. 126: Nate Hart, OTC, minor decision over Jon Solum, Bem, 6-4. 132: Nolan Booge, PR, pinned Cole Johnson, TRF, 2:29. 138: Wallace Michels, NYA, major decision over Colton Weiland, Crk, 13-5. 145: Braydon Ortloff, DL, minor decision over Chandler Mooney, Ros, 9-4. 152: Josh Bernier, TRF, minor decision over Jared Sunram, PR, 10-3. 160: Justin Dravis, PR, pinned Noah Hawkins, TRF, 2:50. 170: Zack Waln, BHVPP, minor decision over Blake Skogstad, Ros, 5-2. 182: Holt Truax, BHVPP, major decision over Jake Erckenbrack, NYM, 13-3. 195: Brenan Peralta, TRF, minor decision over Jake Wagner, Crk, 8-4. 220: Ethan Kimber, BHVPP, pinned Devin Pries, BGMR, 2:22. 285: Chase Johnson, BCLB, minor decision over Craig Orlando, BHVPP, 9-4.

Park Rapids results

Ashton Clark (106): won major decision over Trevor Janssen, BCLB, 11-2; won minor decision over Bryce Golden, Bem, 7-0; won minor decision over Quinn kern, BHVPP, 6-1 (1st).

Kaden Safratowich (120): lost minor decision to Jared Kleindl, NYA, 8-2; pinned Race Knochenmus, Ros, :33; lost major decision to Bryce Bergeron, BGMR, 9-0; pinned Cameron Weiland, Crk, 5:35 (7th).


Landen Burlingame (126): lost major decision to Jon Solum, Bem, 13-1; lost minor decision to Michael Staples, BCLB, 8-6.

Nolan Booge (132): pinned Tristan Corrow, NKG, 1:56; won minor decision over Max Naddy, OTC, 8-2; pinned Cole Johnson, TRF, 2:29 (1st).

Jared Sunram (152):pinned Izaah Bennefeld, FB, 3:53; pinned Michael Fielding, OTC, :40; won minor decision over Ian Frenzel, BCLB, 8-2; lost minor decision to Josh Bernier, TRF, 10-3 (2nd).

Justin Dravis (160): pinned Tyler Isane, BGMR, 1:04; pinned Mason PReston, bCLB, :57; pinned Noah Hawkins, TRF, 2:50 (1st).

Cody Dravis (170): pinned Johnny Flynn, NYM, 1:19; lost minor decision to Zack Waln, BHVPP, 2-0; pinned Kyle Miller, TRF, :30; won major decision over Nick Peterson, Bem, 8-0 (3rd).

Zach Nelson (182): lost minor decision to Noah Olds, DL, 7-2; pinned Kevin Tierney, OTC, :53; lost major decision to Hunter Schoenborn, Bem, 10-2; won by 18-3 technical fall over Brandon McCourt, Ros, 6:00 (5th).

Jack Hensel (195): lost minor decision over Peter Moen, Bem, 5-2; won minor decision over Brodie Wensloff, Ros, 7-5; pinned by Moen 5:31 (4th).

Jacob Bittmann (220): pinned Josh Olson, NYM, 4:50; lost minor decision to Ethan Kimber, BHVPP, 10-6; pinned by Connor Swanson, TRF, 2:42; lost by forfeit to Olson (6th).


Dwayne Johnson (285): lost minor decision to Jeff Saewert, NYM, 7-4; pinned Hunter Koski, NKG, 2:27; pinned Zach Evans, BGMR, 4:00; pinned by Saewert :36; won minor decision over Charles Barnett, DL, 5-0 (5th).

1982 Dawson-Boyd High School graduate
1987 Moorhead State University graduate
Sports reporter for Park Rapids Enterprise since 1987
What To Read Next
Get Local