Mahnomen/Waubun wins final bout to edge Panthers

The Park Rapids wrestling team fell to 3-7 in dual meets this season with a pair of losses at Mahnomen.


Mahnomen/Waubun won the final bout to edge the Park Rapids wrestling team 40-39 in a triangular meet featuring Section 8A teams at Mahnomen on Thursday, Feb. 4.

In the Panthers’ other match, six forfeits led Fosston/Bagley to a 63-18 victory.

Pins by Wrigley Clark at 113 pounds, Henry Thorson at 138, Lucas Kritzeck at 145 and Zachary Paurus at 160 gave the Panthers a 33-18 lead against Mahnomen/Waubun. Eli Burton had an 8-4 minor decision at 120 and Jarrett Galzki received a forfeit win at 132 for Park Rapids in the early going. After three forfeits, a pin by Tristan Hill at 220 put the Panthers in front 39-36 before Mahnomen/Waubun pulled off the win with a major decision at 285.

In the match against Fosston/Bagley, Andrew Johanning’s pin at 126 and forfeit wins by Burton at 120 and Galzki at 132 gave the Panthers an 18-12 lead. Fosston/Bagley won the final nine contests with five forfeits and three pins.

The losses dropped Park Rapids to 1-4 against section opponents and 3-7 overall. Fosston/Bagley improved to 4-0 in section matches and 6-4 overall after sweeping both matches while a split gave Mahnomen/Waubun a 2-3 mark against section teams and a 5-5 overall record.


Mahnomen-Waubun 40, Park Rapids 39
106: Dominik Nelsen, MW, won by injury default over Isaac Jensen 4:23. 113: Wrigley Clark, PR, pinned Beau Sumdahl 3:06. 120: Eli Burton, PR, minor decision over Blake McMullen 8-4. 126: Garrett Eiynck, FB, pinned Andrew Johanning :56. 132: Jarrett Galzki, PR, won by forfeit. 138: Henry Thorson, PR, pinned Colter Bendrickson 1:48. 145: Lucas Kritzeck, PR, pinned Lucas Geray 1:43. 152: William Olson, FB, won by forfeit. 160: Zach Paurus, PR, pinned Tatum Bement 1:09. 170: Sophie Rojas, FB, won by forfeit. 182: Nikowa Fortier, FB, won by forfeit. 195: Blake Geray, FB, won by forfeit. 220: Tristan Hill, PR, won by forfeit. 285: Peyton Stock, FB, major decision over Dandre Johnson 12-2.
Fosston/Bagley 63, Park Rapids 18
106: Noah Halberg, FB, won by forfeit. 113: Aiden Wolfe, FB, pinned Wrigley Clark 1:20. 120: Eli Burton, PR, won by forfeit. 126: Andrew Johanning, PR, pinned Alex Johnson 1:40. 132: Jarrett Galzki, PR, won by forfeit. 138: Zach Thompson, FB, pinned Henry Thorson 1:17. 145: Keegan Senger, FB, minor decision over Lucas Kritzeck 7-3. 152: Kaden Sanford, FB, pinned Zachary Paurus 1:49. 160: Tegan Larson, FB, won by forfeit. 170: Jayce Thompson, FB, won by forfeit. 182: Carter Sorenson, FB, won by forfeit. 195: Dane Schoenborn, FB, won by forfeit. 220: Jessie Beckman, FB, pinned Tristan Hill 3:22. 285: Alex Hagen, FB, won by forfeit.
Related Topics: WRESTLING
1982 Dawson-Boyd High School graduate
1987 Moorhead State University graduate
Sports reporter for Park Rapids Enterprise since 1987
What To Read Next
The Detroit Lakes-based collective also includes players from Frazee-Vergas, Perham, New York Mills and Park Rapids.
Warm temperatures and partial sun greeted 33 drivers, crews and riders for the opening day. Plus, a huge gathering of fans looked on in the special area created for fans’ viewing pleasure.
If accepted, the school would join Barnesville, Breckenridge, Dilworth-Glyndon-Felton, Hawley, Frazee, Pelican Rapids and Perham in 2024-25.
Katy Bloomquist Freitag of Park Rapids and Ryan Rogers of Bemidji finish the grueling competition.