Danny Menton and Jim Foss held off two teams to capture the title in the annual Two-Man Best Ball/Scramble tournament at Headwaters Golf Club.

Menton and Foss followed a 67 during best ball play on Saturday (June 8) with a 62 during scramble play on Sunday (June 9) for a two-day total of 15-under-par 129. Kevin Krigbaum and Tom Jenkins also carded a 62 during the scramble to tie Casey Hill and Justin Johnson for runner-up honors at 130. Brian Shuck and Taylor Shuck finished fourth in the 34-team Scratch Division with a 132.

The Shucks tied Mark Frie and Rick Frieburg for the lead with 6-under-par 66s after the first 18 holes of best ball play. The Shucks used a birdie on No. 6 and an eagle on No. 9 for a 35 on the front side and followed with an eagle on No. 15 and birdies on Nos. 12, 17 and 18 for a 31 on the back side. Frie and Frieburg carded birdies on Nos. 1, 3, 5, 8 and 9 for a 31 on the front side while birdies on the 15th and 16th holes led to a 35 on the back side.

Menton and Foss were tied with Hill and Johnson at 67 while the duos of defending champs Bryant Black and Kyle Bahe, Krigbaum and Jenkins, and Robby Polipnick and Ryan Sauerer were tied at 68 after best ball play. Menton and Foss posted birdies on Nos. 1, 2 and 9 for a 34 on the front side while an eagle on No. 15 and a birdie on No. 18 led to a 33 on the back side. Hill and Johnson carded birdies on No. 1 and No. 6 and an eagle on No. 9 for a 33 on the front side while birdies on Nos. 11, 13, 15 and 18 resulted in a 34 on the back side. Three shots back at 69 were the duos of Eric Carlson and Joe Motzko and Brad Anderson and Derek Hasselberg.

An eagle on No. 1 to open the scramble portion of the tournament pulled Menton and Foss into a share of the lead. That duo maintained the lead with birdies on Nos. 2, 4 and 6. Hill and Johnson (who had birdies on No. 2 and No. 5 and an eagle on No. 4) took over the lead with birdies on No. 7 and No. 8 for a 30 on the front side. Menton and Foss were a shot back after carding a 31 while Krigbaum and Jenkins used birdies on Nos. 1, 2, 4, 5, 7 and 8 for a 30 to trail by a shot. The Shucks fell two shot out with a 33 while Frie and Frieburg also carded a 33 to trial by two shots entering the final nine holes.

A birdie on No. 10 kept Hill and Johnson in front before Menton and Foss regained the lead with birdies on Nos. 10, 12, 14, 15 and 16. That string of birdies gave Menton and Foss a two-shot lead over the Hill-Johnson and Krigbaum-Jenkins duos with two holes to play.

The two challengers gained a stroke with pars on No. 17, but Menton and Foss rebounded from a bogey and were able to maintain the lead with a birdie on No. 18 to match the other contenders. The Shucks carded a 33 on the back side to finish fourth while Frie and Frieburg carded a 34 on the back side to tie the defending champs for fifth place at 133.

Mike Terch and Tyler Harvey used a 62 during the scramble to tie for seventh place with Carlson and Motzko at 134. Tying for ninth place at 135 were the duos of Polipnick and Sauerer, Anderson and Hasselberg, and Jeff Cannon and Toby Palmiscno.

Among the current and previous Headwaters Golf Club members who participated in the Scratch Division were Tadd Usher and Tate Usher (70-69) at 139; Dana Husby and Jonnie Miller (72-69) at 141; Trent Wilcox and Steve Wermerskirchen (74-67) at 141; and Nate Wittenberg and Ty Griffin (74-69) at 143.

In the Handicap Division, Randy Buhr and Randy Johnson used a 53 during scramble play to capture the title with a two-day total of 123. Jed Ryan and Taylor Schroeder finished second by following a 62 with a 63 for a 125 while Ken Mackley and Tom Marcussen took third with a 127 behind rounds of 66 and 61.

Five duos tied for fourth place at 128. In that group were the duos of John Baer and Bob Paine (64-64), Mike Brown and Steve Brown (67-61), Dave Bash and Jeff Massie (68-60), Marty Marjama and Wayne Marjama (66-62), and Chris Lownsbury and Dusty Christenson (67-61). Franz Ringle and Paul Nordeen (65-64) tied Ryan Kleven and Tracy Lura (70-59) for ninth place at 129. Four teams tied for 11th place at 130. That group featured Ian Johnson and Ken Pearson (67-63), Brent Tollefson and Brian Knoblauch (70-60), Kevin Ondracek and Mark Ondracek (68-62), and Mark Carlson and Walt Leckner (65-65).

A total of 48 teams participated in the Handicap Division.