EGF defeats Panthers 5-2 in dual meet

Alex Renner and the No. 2 doubles team of Kyle Dickinson and James Kujawa picked up wins as the Park Rapids boys tennis team dropped a 5-2 decision at East Grand Forks Tuesday.

Alex Renner and the No. 2 doubles team of Kyle Dickinson and James Kujawa picked up wins as the Park Rapids boys tennis team dropped a 5-2 decision at East Grand Forks Tuesday.

Renner prevailed in straight sets at No. 1 singles while Dickinson and Kujawa posted a straight-set win at No. 2 doubles as the Panthers fell to 0-3 in dual meets this season.

East Grand Forks 5, Park Rapids 2

No. 1 singles: Alex Renner, PR, over Joel Ryan 6-3, 6-0.

No. 2 singles: Scott Metzger, EGF, over Armando Padilla 6-1, 6-1.


No. 3 singles: Blake Gaddie, EGF, over Jonah Pearson 6-1, 6-1.

No. 4 singles: Tommy Lukkason, EGF, over Bob Swanstrom 6-2, 6-0.

No. 1 doubles: Jake Greenwood/Ty Misialek, EGF, over Max Brown/Scott Smith 6-1, 6-2.

No. 2 doubles: Kyle Dickinson/James Kujawa, PR, over Alec Harris/Ben Campos 6-3, 6-2.

No. 3 doubles: Tyler Marcott/Eddie Eades, EGF, over Mitch Fossen/Chris Shaw 6-4, 6-2.

Brown, Shaw lead way at tourney

Max Brown and Chris Shaw placed fourth at No. 2 doubles to lead the Panthers at last Saturday's Park Rapids Invitational.

Scott Smith placed sixth at No. 2 singles while Renner at No. 1 singles, Armando Padilla at No. 3 singles, Jonah Pearson at No. 4 singles, and the Dickinson and Kujawa at No. 1 doubles all placed seventh.


Park Rapids results

Alex Renner (No. 1 singles): lost to Jake Anderson, Fergus Falls, 7-6 (7-2), 6-2; lost to Nick Frizen, Moorhead, 6-1, 7-6 (10-8); defeated Mike Paavola, Wadena-Deer Creek (7th).

Scott Smith (No. 2 singles): lost to Guthrie Coughlin, Staples-Motley, 6-3, 6-0; defeated Jed Jansen, Long Prairie-Grey Eagle, 6-3, 7-5; lost to Ty Misialek, East Grand Forks, 6-2, 4-0 retired (6th).

Armando Padilla (No. 3 singles): lost to Blake Gaddie, East Grand Forks, 6-4, 7-5; lost to Gabe Steinwand, Moorhead, 6-4, 6-4; defeated Drew Larson, Wadena-Deer Creek, 6-4, 6-2 (7th).

Jonah Pearson (No. 4 singles): lost to Brandon Stevens, Foley, 6-0, 6-2; lost to JD Thompson, Moorhead, 6-0, 6-0; defeated Scott Segler, East Grand Forks, 6-1, 6-2 (7th).

Kyle Dickinson/James Kujawa (No. 1 doubles): lost to Cody Werner/Zach Pesta, Long Prairie-Grey Eagle, 6-4, 6-2; lost to Joey Pettit/Matt Jacobson, Fergus Falls, 6-4, 3-6, 10-4; defeated Cory Pettow/Joe Pate, Wadena-Deer Creek, 6-0, 6-1 (7th).

Max Brown/Chris Shaw (No. 2 doubles): defeated Wadena-Deer Creek, 6-1, 6-0; lost to Chris Thisen/Sam Burns, Moorhead, 2-6, 6-2, 10-7; lost to Pat Billobeau/Eric Anderson, Fergus Falls, 6-4, 6-4 (4th).

Bob Swanstrom/Mitch Fossen (No. 3 doubles): lost to Kurt Meyer/Wes Meyer, Moorhead, 6-2, 6-2; lost to Alex Harris/Tyler Marcott, East Grand Forks, 6-2, 6-0; lost to Aaron Vanjo/Jonathon Hagland, Wadena-Deer Creek/Moorhead, 6-3, 6-4 (8th).

Related Topics: TENNIS
1982 Dawson-Boyd High School graduate
1987 Moorhead State University graduate
Sports reporter for Park Rapids Enterprise since 1987
What To Read Next
The Detroit Lakes-based collective also includes players from Frazee-Vergas, Perham, New York Mills and Park Rapids.
Warm temperatures and partial sun greeted 33 drivers, crews and riders for the opening day. Plus, a huge gathering of fans looked on in the special area created for fans’ viewing pleasure.
If accepted, the school would join Barnesville, Breckenridge, Dilworth-Glyndon-Felton, Hawley, Frazee, Pelican Rapids and Perham in 2024-25.
Katy Bloomquist Freitag of Park Rapids and Ryan Rogers of Bemidji finish the grueling competition.