Defending champions repeat at Northwoods Triathlon

Brooks Grossinger and Cheryl Zitur capture men's and women's titles at 19th annual event.

The first waves of swimmers kicked off the 19th annual Northwoods Triathlon on Aug. 13, 2022.
Vance Carlson / Park Rapids Enterprise
We are part of The Trust Project.

NEVIS – Mayer’s Brooks Grossinger and Corcoran’s Cheryl Zitur defended their men’s and women’s titles at the 19th annual Northwoods Triathlon.

Grossinger won his 15th consecutive and 17th overall men’s title with a winning time of 59 minutes, 35 seconds. The 45-year-old Grossinger completed the ¼-mile swim in Lake Belle Taine in 6:41, completed the 14-mile bike ride in 33:31 and finished the 5K run on the Heartland Trail in 17:26 in addition to transition time. Grossinger had the fastest times in the bike ride and 5K.

Brandon Lee of West Fargo, North Dakota, clocked a runner-up time of 1:02:55 with a 7:24 swim, a 35:00 bike ride and a 18:20 5K while Nevis’ David Lewis was third in 1:02:58 with a 7:33 swim, a 35:06 bike ride and an 18:05 5K.

Zitur led the women’s field in 1:09:02, including a 7:06 swim, a 37:09 bike ride and a 21:47 5K run. Bemidji’s Christel Kippenhan was the runner-up in 1:12:45 with a time of 7:11 in the water, a 39:42 bike ride and a 23:39 run. In third place was Brainerd’s Madelyn Miller, who used a 6:58 swim, a 43:30 bike ride and a 20:21 5K for a 1:13:39. Zitur had the fastest time on the bike while Miller had the fastest 5K time for the women.

West Fargo’s Brody Engelstad had the fastest swim time of 6:10 for the men while Savage’s Isabel Ondracek had the fastest swim time for the women in 6:30.


Park Rapids' Bill Barth (right) finished 54th overall in 1:21:55 at the Northwoods Triathlon on Aug. 13, 2022.
Vance Carlson / Park Rapids Enterprise

Clocking the fastest time in the relays was the Anchorpersons coed team, which featured the Little Falls trio of Brent Schulte, Mitch Schulte and Megan Schulte. That team went 8:53 in the swim, 41:12 in the bike ride and 20:26 in the 5K for a winning time of 1:12:13. There were 21 coed teams.

Winning the men’s relay was The Winning Team, which featured Jon Bell-Clement and Justin Monplaisir of Fargo, North Dakota. That duo clocked a swim time of 7:52, a bike time of 48:41 and a 5K time of 21:58 for a 1:20:20. The event featured five men’s relay teams.

The Blonde Ambition Trio – which featured Nevis’ Katy Freitag, Kathy Stenberg and Krista Mueller – won the women’s relay title in 1:17:34 with a 7:31 swim, a 40:09 bike ride and a 27:59 run. There were five women’s relay teams.

Other local competitors included Nevis’ Nicholas Richter (40th in 1:19:30), Park Rapids’ Brian Hobson (43rd in 1:20:05), Park Rapids’ Bill Barth (54th in 1:21:55), Park Rapids’ Kenny May (68th in 1:23:58), Nevis’ Eli Lewis (82nd in 1:27:19), Nevis’ Alyssa Robley (85th in 1:27:52), Nevis’ Michael Grendzinski (117th in 1:32:45), Park Rapids’ Emily Munson (125th in 1:34:51), Park Rapids’ Jesse Munson (131st in 1:35:07), Park Rapids’ Emily Boedigheimer (136th in 1:36:29), Park Rapids’ Jessie Clark (138th in 1:36:39), Park Rapids’ Angie Walther (164th in 1:40:50), Park Rapids’ Dawn Pappas (171st in 1:43:09), Park Rapids’ Nora Bolton (173rd in 1:44:18) and Park Rapids’ Dave Goeddertz (190th in 1:54:01).

In the coed relays, the Park Rapids Can’t Imagine Losing team of Will Barth, Liam Gottsch and Adeline Bjorklund finished third in 1:15:39 while the Nevis Team Candyland trio of Ken Osterberg, Candace Stevenson and Preston Stevenson finished 17th in 1:43:06.

There were a total of 111 men, 88 women and 85 individuals in the 31 relay teams who competed.

The Northwoods Triathlon is sponsored by the Nevis Civic & Commerce Association, which uses the proceeds from this event within the surrounding community to support the health and wellness of its residents.

Following are the winners in each age division and the relays. Complete results can be found on .



Overall winner: Brooks Grossinger, Mayer, 59:35.

19-under: 1, Matthew Ondracek, Savage, 1:19:27.

20-24: 1, Noah Cheslter, Minneapolis, 1:15:15.

25-29: 1, Robert Rutscher, Stillwater, 1:05:46.

30-34: 1, Thomas McCarthy, Minneapolis, 1:16:03.

35-39: 1, Miles Krueger, Baxter, 1:16:05.

40-44: 1, Brandon Lee, West Fargo, ND, 1:02:55.

45-49: 1, Brooks Grossinger, Mayer, 59:35.

50-54: 1, Sean Bartels, Minneapolis, 1:10:26.

55-59: 1, Phil Rogers, Esko, 1:13:26.

60-64: 1, Craig Peterson, Minneapolis, 1:10:07.

65-69: 1, Dennis Nelson, Henderson, NV, 1:22:29.

70-over: 1, William Yourd, Bemidji, 1:47:13.


Overall winner: Cheryl Zitur, Corcoran, 1:09:02.

19-under: 1, Madelyn Miller, Brainerd, 1:13:39.

20-24: 1, Sofie Overturf, Moorhead, 1:20:45.

25-29: 1, Mata Agre, Nisswa, 1:13:54.

30-34: 1, Tricia Reimann, Grand Forks, ND, 1:22:33.

35-39: 1, Jessie Maher, Bemidji, 1:13:52.

40-44: 1, Lindsey Leker, West Fargo, ND, 1:20:50.

45-49: 1, Rachel Miller, Edina, 1:30:31.

50-54: 1, Christine Mitchell, Maple Grove, 1:17:38.

55-59: 1, Cheryl Zitur, Corcoran, 1:09:02.

60-64: 1, Lisa Barth, St. Paul, 1:35:06.

65-69: 1, Mari Bell, Fargo, ND, 1:47:12.


1, The Winning Team (Jon Bell-Blement, Justin Montplaisir), Fargo, ND, 1:20:20.


1, Blonde Ambition Trio (Katy Freitag, Kathy Stenberg, Krista Mueller), Nevis, 1:17:34.


1, Anchorpersons (Brent Schulte, Mitch Schulte, Megan Schulte), Little Falls, 1:12:13.


1982 Dawson-Boyd High School graduate
1987 Moorhead State University graduate
Sports reporter for Park Rapids Enterprise since 1987
What To Read Next
The Detroit Lakes-based collective also includes players from Frazee-Vergas, Perham, New York Mills and Park Rapids.
Warm temperatures and partial sun greeted 33 drivers, crews and riders for the opening day. Plus, a huge gathering of fans looked on in the special area created for fans’ viewing pleasure.
If accepted, the school would join Barnesville, Breckenridge, Dilworth-Glyndon-Felton, Hawley, Frazee, Pelican Rapids and Perham in 2024-25.