Clearbrook-Gonvick spoils Tigers' homecoming game

After fumbling on its first series, Clearbrook-Gonvick scored on its next three possessions to spark a 44-14 District 9 West (North) 9-man football victory at Nevis Friday night.

Nevis' Ben Soldwisch (81) tackled Clearbrook-Gonvick's Damon Bakke (14) during Friday night's game. Vance Carlson / Enterprise

After fumbling on its first series, Clearbrook-Gonvick scored on its next three possessions to spark a 44-14 District 9 West (North) 9-man football victory at Nevis Friday night.

Both teams exchanged fumbles before the Bears opened the scoring on Obie Hammer's 20-yard touchdown reception from Hunter Ehlers. That gave C-G a 6-0 lead with 10:45 to play in the first quarter. Johnny Hamnes' 32-yard TD run at the 8:01 mark and 10-yard TD reception from Ehlers at the 4:38 mark gave the Bears a 20-0 lead after the first quarter.

Luke DeWulf's 11-yard TD run and conversion reception from Derek Lindow with 9:28 to play in the first half cut the deficit to 20-8 before a 2-yard TD run by Damon Bakke at the 5:27 mark and a TD run by Hamnes with 1:52 to play before the intermission extended C-G's lead to 32-8.

After a 13-yard TD run by Anthony Peldo gave the Bears a 38-8 lead at the 7:17 mark of the third quarter, Cain Mitchell scored on a 3-yard run to make it 38-14 with 14:38 to play. Peldo returned a fumble 40 yards for the game's final score.

The Tigers finished with 286 yards in offense with DeWulf gaining 82 yards on 13 carries while completing 7 of 12 passes for 86 yards. Keanu Yabandith had 40 yards on six carries while Reese Kline added 30 yards on five attempts. Ben Soldwisch caught two passes for 57 yards. Defensively, DeWulf and Soldwisch made 10 solo tackles each while Dan Mistic had nine solo tackles.


The loss dropped Nevis to 2-3 in the district standings while Clearbrook-Gonvick improved to 1-4. In Friday night's other district games, Norman County East/Ulen-Hitterdal defeated Kittson County Central 29-12, Stephen-Argyle defeated Goodridge/Grygla 26-8 and Win-E-Mac defeated Laporte 50-14. Northern Freeze edged Warren-Alvarado-Oslo 14-8 on Saturday. NCE/UH and Stephen-Argyle improved to 5-0 while Goodridge/Grygla fell to 4-1. Win-E-Mac and Northern Freeze improved to 3-2 with Kittson County Central joining Nevis at 2-3. W-A-O and Laporte are both 5-0.

In the Section 6 standings, NCE/UH stays at the top with Win-E-Mac following. Rothsay (which lost to Verndale 60-14) joins Nevis at 2-3 while Park Christian (which lost to Bertha-Hewitt 36-6) fell to 1-4. Laporte remained winless.

Nevis travels to Ulen to play NCE/UH this Friday night (Oct. 5) at 7 p.m.

Clearbrook-Gonvick 20 12 6 6...44

Nevis 0 8 0 6...14


CG--Hammer 20 pass from Ehlers (pass failed)

CG--Hamnes 32 run (Bakke run)


CG--Hamnes 10 pass from Ehlers (run failed)

N--DeWulf 11 run (DeWulf pass from Lindow)

CG--Bakke 2 run (pass failed)

CG--Hamnes run (run failed)

CG--Peldo 13 run (run failed)

N--Mitchell 3 run (run failed)

CG--Peldo 40 fumble return (run failed)



RUSHING: DeWulf 13-82, Yabandith 6-40, Kline 5-30, Mitchell 5-28, Lindow 4-11, Lewis 2-3, Vignaroli 1-(-1), Keezer 3-(-1).

PASSING: DeWulf 7-12-0 for 86 yards; Lindow 2-9-0 for 8 yards.

RECEIVING: Soldwisch 2-57, Mistic 2-17, Funk 2-5, Lindow 1-7, Keezer 1-5, DeWulf 1-3.

KICKOFF RETURNS: DeWulf 4-85, Soldwisch 2-21, Kline 1-12, Ahrendt 1-10.


SOLO TACKLES: DeWulf 10, Soldwisch 10, Mistic 9, Dunham 5, Henry 4, Funk 2, Ross 2, Yabandith 2, Johnson 2, Andress 2, Mitchell 1, Ahrendt 1.

ASSISTED TACKLES: Keezer 4, DeWulf 3, Johnson 2, Soldwisch 2, Andress 2, Ahrendt 1, Ross 1, Mistic 1, Henry 1.


Related Topics: FOOTBALL
1982 Dawson-Boyd High School graduate
1987 Moorhead State University graduate
Sports reporter for Park Rapids Enterprise since 1987
What To Read Next
The Detroit Lakes-based collective also includes players from Frazee-Vergas, Perham, New York Mills and Park Rapids.
Warm temperatures and partial sun greeted 33 drivers, crews and riders for the opening day. Plus, a huge gathering of fans looked on in the special area created for fans’ viewing pleasure.
If accepted, the school would join Barnesville, Breckenridge, Dilworth-Glyndon-Felton, Hawley, Frazee, Pelican Rapids and Perham in 2024-25.
Katy Bloomquist Freitag of Park Rapids and Ryan Rogers of Bemidji finish the grueling competition.