Burlingame receives all-conference honors

Pequot Lakes goes undefeated to capture Mid-State Conference title.

Park Rapids senior Katie Burlingame received Mid-State Conference honors while Pequot Lakes senior Lydia Hubbard was named the conference’s Most Valuable Player in a vote by the league coaches.

Hubbard tallied 167 kills, 58 digs, 24 service aces and 22 blocks in leading Pequot Lakes to an 11-1 record. Those numbers earned Hubbard a spot on the state Class AA First Team.

Joining Burlingame and Hubbard as all-conference players were seniors Kate Bolz-Andolshek, Rita Ganley, Phoebe Glenn and Ella Pfeiffer of Pequot Lakes; Aitkin seniors Ally Ehnstrom and Lydia Fellerman; seniors Gabby Fredrickson and Faith Keller and freshman Grace Gunderson of Detroit Lakes; Staples-Motley seniors Tabetha Allen and Heidi Lombard; and Crosby-Ironton senior Jacey Rydberg. Pequot Lakes’ Chris Ganley was named the Mid-State’s Coach of the Year.

Earning all-conference honorable mention honors were Pequot Lakes sophomore Maci Martin; seniors Madison Foster and Jordyn Johnson and freshman Ava Jones of Detroit Lakes; Aitkin senior Kate Pelarski; Staples-Motley juniors Morgan Becker and Leah Bestland; and Crosby-Ironton juniors Mya Decent and Kallie Pepenfuss.

Pequot Lakes won the conference title with a 7-0 record while Aitkin and Detroit Lakes went 4-2. Rounding out the Mid-State standings were Staples-Motley (3-2), Crosby-Ironton (2-7) and Park Rapids (0-7).


Related Topics: VOLLEYBALL
1982 Dawson-Boyd High School graduate
1987 Moorhead State University graduate
Sports reporter for Park Rapids Enterprise since 1987
What To Read Next
The Detroit Lakes-based collective also includes players from Frazee-Vergas, Perham, New York Mills and Park Rapids.
Warm temperatures and partial sun greeted 33 drivers, crews and riders for the opening day. Plus, a huge gathering of fans looked on in the special area created for fans’ viewing pleasure.
If accepted, the school would join Barnesville, Breckenridge, Dilworth-Glyndon-Felton, Hawley, Frazee, Pelican Rapids and Perham in 2024-25.
Katy Bloomquist Freitag of Park Rapids and Ryan Rogers of Bemidji finish the grueling competition.