BGMR defeats Warriors, Panthers fall in first round at section tournaments

United North Central advanced to the semifinals while Park Rapids was eliminated in the first round of the section wrestling tournaments at Thief River Falls on Feb. 16.

Kian Scott had one of Park Rapids' four pins in a 56-24 loss to Fergus Falls in a Section 8AA first-round match on Feb. 16. Vance Carlson / Enterprise

United North Central advanced to the semifinals while Park Rapids was eliminated in the first round of the section wrestling tournaments at Thief River Falls on Feb. 16.

United North Central, the No. 3 seed, opened with a 63-4 win over No. 6 Fertile-Beltrami in the quarterfinals before being defeated by No. 2 Badger-Greenbush-Middle River 55-13 in the semifinals of the Section 8A tournament.

Park Rapids, the No, 9 seed, was eliminated with a 56-24 loss to No. 8 Fergus Falls in a first-round match of the Section 8AA tournament.

BGMR edged No. 1 Frazee 31-30 in the Section 8A championship match while No. 1 Perham defeated No. 2 Detroit Lakes 48-12 in the Section 8AA title match. BGMR (No. 10) and Frazee (No. 7) were rated in the state Class A poll while Perham (No. 2) and Detroit Lakes (No. 8) were rated in the state Class AA poll. BGMR will carry a 19-9 record to state while Perham will carry a 29-1 record to state.

Warriors reach semifinals


UNC used six pins to coast past Fertile-Beltrami in the quarterfinals.

The Warriors won the first four matches in four different ways as Ethan Hendrickson posted a 9-0 major decision at 106 pounds, TJ Jasicki posted an 11-9 minor decision at 113, Isaac Tellers posted a 15-0 technical fall win at 120 and Dylan Rasmussen won by pin at 126.

Pins by Ethan Trout at 138, Eion Ness at 152, Torrey Carlson at 160, Brock Kako at 195 and Jared Seibert at 285 sealed the win. Dominick Fuller (at 145) and Gator Bettin (at 182) received forfeits while Dakota Meech posted a 2-0 minor decision at 170.

Fertile-Beltrami ended the season with a 3-9 record.

In the semifinals, the Warriors jumped out to a 13-0 lead before BGMR won the final 11 matches to advance to the finals.

Hendrickson's 3-2 minor decision at 106, Jasicki's 16-4 major decision at 113 and Tellers' pin at 120 gave UNC the early lead.

BGMR followed with five pins, two major decisions, two minor decisions, a win by technical fall and a win by forfeit as the Warriors end the season with a 14-8 record.

No. 8 Mahnomen-Waubun edged No. 9 Red Lake County Central 42-39 in a first-round match. In the other quarterfinals, Frazee defeated Mahnomen/Waubun 65-6, BGMR eliminated No. 7 Roseau 54-22 and No. 5 Crookston edged No. 4 Fosston/Bagley 42-36. Frazee defeated Crookston 61-15 in the other semifinal match.


United North Central 63, Fertile-Beltrami 4

106: Ethan Hendrickson, UNC, major decision over Daunte Yost 9-0. 113: TJ Jasicki, UNC, minor decision over Seth Lavalier 11-9. 120: Isaac Tellers, UNC, technical fall over Wesley Ramberg 15-0. 126: Dylan Rasmussen, UNC, pinned Andrew Schwede :31. 132: Hunter Hitchen, FB, major decision over Hank Tellers 15-6. 138: Ethan Trout, UNC, pinned Tyler Stuhaug 1:32. 145: Dominick Fuller, UNC, won by forfeit. 152: Eion Ness, UNC, pinned Alex Smith 3:35. 160: Torrey Carlson, UNC, pinned Micah Tollefson 3:37. 170: Dakota Meech, UNC, minor decision over Gabe Horgeshimer 2-0. 182: Gator Bettin, UNC, won by forfeit. 195: Brock Kako, UNC, pinned Dakota Qualley 1:42. 220: Double forfeit. 285: Jared Seibert, UNC, pinned Jude Olson :52.

BGMR 55, United North Central 13

106: Ethan Hendrickson, UNC, minor decision over Tony Olson 3-2. 113: TJ Jasicki, UNC, major decision over Jaxon Janousek 16-4. 120: Isaac Tellers, UNC, pinned Brogen Beito :57. 126: Avery Ausgustson, BGMR, pinned Dylan Rasmussen 1:41. 132: Garrett Undeberg, BGMR, major decision over Hank Tellers 12-2. 138: Brandon Pries, BGMR, technical fall over Ethan Trout 16-1. 145: Owen Novacek, BGMR, pinned Dominick Fuller :26. 152: Andy Dostal, BGMR, pinned Eion Ness 2:56. 160: Caleb Vacura, BGMR, major decision over Torrey Carlson 12-1. 170; Joe DeZelar, BGMR, pinned Dakota Meech 1:13. 182: Ethan Waage, BGMR, pinned Gator Bettin 3:16. 195: Jacob Bergsnev, BGMR, minor decision over Brock Kako 7-4. 220: Dominik Vacura, BGMR, won by forfeit. 285: Zach Evans, BGMR, minor decision over Jared Seibert 3-1 (ot).

Otters oust Panthers

Fergus Falls won the first eight matches in building a 45-0 lead in eliminating the Panthers.

Kaden Safratowich's pin in 4:45 at 160, Cody Dravis' pin in 1:06 at 170, Jack Hensel's pin in 1:06 at 182 and Kian Scott's pin in :40 accounted for Park Rapids' points.

The loss ended the Panthers' season at 3-17. Perham defeated Fergus Falls 76-6 in the quarterfinals as Fergus Falls closed the season with a 4-18 record.


In the other first-round match, No. 7 Dilworth-Glyndon-Felton defeated No. 10 Sauk Centre/Melrose 60-21. In the other quarterfinals, No. 2 Detroit Lakes eliminated D-G-F 60-15, No. 3 Thief River Falls defeated No. 6 United Clay Becker 63-12 and No. 4 Pierz defeated No. 5 Pequot Lakes/Pine River-Backus 40-29. Perham eliminated Pierz 57-11 and Detroit Lakes defeated Thief River Falls 39-29 in the semifinals.

Fergus Falls 56, Park Rapids 24

106: Da'mon Britten, FF, pinned Henry Thorson 3:00. 113: Jacob Widness, FF, won by forfeit. 120: Ethan Leopold, FF, won by forfeit. 126: Caden Olson, FF, won by forfeit. 132: Delvin Roberts, FF, minor decision over Daryl Etter 6-1. 138: Justin Boyd, FF, pinned Max Crist 5:36. 145: Sam Sorum, FF, won by forfeit. 152: Kaden Hartwell, FF, won by forfeit. 160: Kaden Safratowich, PR, pinned Cole Fronning 4:45. 170: Cody Dravis, PR, pinned Lucas Oliphant 1:06. 182: Jack Hensel, PR, pinned Braedon Wagner 1:06. 195: Kian Scott, PR, pinned Tyson Back :40. 220: Juan Rodriguez, FF, won by forfeit. 285: Dustin Portales, FF, technical fall over Hunter Carnell 22-7.

UNC rolls by MW

United North Central closed out the regular season with a 60-13 win over Mahnomen/Waubun Feb. 12 at Waubun.

Hendrickson at 103, Rasmussen at 126, Ness at 152, Carlson at 160, Kako at 195 and Seibert at 285 had pins for the Warriors. Jasicki at 113, Hank Tellers at 132, Meech at 170 and Bettin at 182 received forfeits.

United North Central 60, Mahnomen/Waubun 13

106: Ethan Hendrickson, UNC, pinned Lukas Geray :28. 113: TJ Jasicki, UNC, won by forfeit. 120: Garret Elynck, MW, pinned Isaac Tellers 3:02. 126: Dylan Rasmussen, UNC, pinned Will Olson 2:51. 132: Hank Tellers, UNC, won by forfeit. 138: Adam Syverson, MW, minor decision over Ethan Trout 8-6. 145: Chase Dorman, MW, major decision over Dominick Fuller 13-4. 152: Eion Ness, UNC, pinned Blake Geray 5:03. 160: Torrey Carlson, UNC, pinned Marvin Bellecourt 4:50. 170: Dakota Meech, UNC, won by forfeit. 182: Gator Bettin, UNC, won by forfeit. 195: Brock Kako, UNC, pinned Shae Yates 3:50. 220: Double forfeit. 285: Jared Seibert, UNC, pinned Logan Bendickson :55.

Related Topics: WRESTLING
1982 Dawson-Boyd High School graduate
1987 Moorhead State University graduate
Sports reporter for Park Rapids Enterprise since 1987
What To Read Next
The Detroit Lakes-based collective also includes players from Frazee-Vergas, Perham, New York Mills and Park Rapids.
Warm temperatures and partial sun greeted 33 drivers, crews and riders for the opening day. Plus, a huge gathering of fans looked on in the special area created for fans’ viewing pleasure.
If accepted, the school would join Barnesville, Breckenridge, Dilworth-Glyndon-Felton, Hawley, Frazee, Pelican Rapids and Perham in 2024-25.