Baumgartner claims title at Big Bear meet

Ben Baumgartner claimed the title at 145 pounds as the Park Rapids wrestling team placed 13th at last Saturday's 37-team Big Bear Tournament at Cass Lake.

     Ben Baumgartner claimed the title at 145 pounds as the Park Rapids wrestling team placed 13th at last Saturday’s 37-team Big Bear Tournament at Cass Lake.

     Baumgartner pinned Badger/Greenbush-Middle River’s Seth Dostal in 2:27, defeated Aitkin’s Jacob Hagestuen 21-3, posted a 4-2 decision over Pequot Lakes/Pine River-Backus’ Nathaniel Adkins and defeated Barnesville’s Rylee Anderson 11-5 in the title match.

     Three other Park Rapids wrestlers placed. Chris Baxter finished sixth at 285, Justin Dravis finished seventh at 160 and Cody Dravis placed eighth at 152.

     Also competing for the Panthers were Ashton Clark at 106, Landen Burlingame at 113, Jared Sunram at 132, Nolan Booge at 138, Zach Nelson at 170, Zach Tretbar at 182, Zach Hocking at 195 and Jacob Bittmann at 220.

     That group compiled 93.50 points. Hutchinson won the team title with 168.50 points.


     United North Central finished 18th with 75.50 points. Tristan Palmer was the runner-up at 195 while Tom Tellers finished fifth at 138. Also placing for the Warriors were Austin Bacon (seventh at 126) and Tanner Bacon (seventh at 170).


Team scores: Hutchinson 168.50, West Central Area 152.50, Lakeville North 141.50, Aitkin 136, Badger/Greenbush-Middle River 134.50, Bemidji 129, Barnesville 123, Blackduck/Cass Lake-Bena 116.50, Big Lake 115.50, Thief River Falls 115, Dilworth-Glyndon-Felton 97, Pequot Lakes/Pine River-Backus 97, Park Rapids 93.50, Roseau 85, Detroit Lakes 78.50, Bertha-Hewitt/Verndale 78, Crookston 76.50, United North Central 75.50, MAHACA 73.50, Albany 59.50, Staples-Motley 57, Hibbing 56.50, Spectrum 51, Zimmerman 51, Holdingford 45, Mahnomen-Waubun 44, Deer River 41, Fosston/Bagley 36, Willmar 35, Fergus Falls 34, Red Lake County Central 23, Virginia 22, Walker-Hackensack-Akeley/Nevis 21, Crosby-Ironton 17.50, United Clay Becker 14, Wadena-Deer Creek 12, West Marshall 12.


Park Rapids results

Ashton Clark (106): pinned Sanden O’Connell, UCB, 2:26; won major decision over Colton Anderson, PLPRB, 15-1; pinned by Andrew Nissen, BCLB, 1:46; lost minor decision to Owen Novacek, BGMR, 7-1.

Landen Burlingame (113): pinned Hunter Baranski, Crookston, 4:41; lost minor decision to Bryce Bergeron, BGMR, 6-2; lost major decision to Devin Dean, BHV, 13-2.

Jared Sunram (132): bye; lost major decision to Ben Schindler, FF, 12-0; lost minor decision to Keaton Long, WCA, 4-3.


Nolan Booge (138): bye; lost minor decision to Trent Milless, Zim, 6-3; won minor decision over Greg Wenzel, Alb, 7-0; lost to Colton Weiland by forfeit.

Ben Baumgartner (145): bye; pinned Seth Dostal, BGMR, 2:27; won by 21-3 technical fall over Jacob Hagestuen, Ait, 5:12; won minor decision over Nathaniel Adkins, PLPRB, 4-2; won minor decision over Rylee Anderson, Barn, 11-5 (1st).

Cody Dravis (152): pinned Ricky Benda, Vir, 1:45; pinned Joe Wedll, FF, :46; lost 17-2 technical fall to Nick Mergen, Alb, 5:00; won minor decision over Dillon Nichols, PLPRB, 5-0; lost major decision to Jerod Novak, Ait, 9-1; pinned by Brandon Waage, BGMR, 2:18 (8th).

Justin Dravis (160): pinned Cole Rybachek, Hib, :39; pinned Calvin Waterhouse, Zim, :34; lost minor decision to Ethan Kimber, BHV, 6-4; pinned Mason Frenzel, BCLB, 2:20; lost minor decision to Derek Helgoe, BL, 9-8; pinned Chris Jackson, Ait, 1:34 (7th).

Zach Nelson (170): pinned Shawn Brandon, PLPRB, 1:04; pinned by Noah Landrus, Ait, 1:02; won minor decision over Cole Gau, Will, 6-0; pinned Jonny Frazee, Crook, 1:46; pinned by Tanner Bacon, UNC, 3:35.

Zach Tretbar (182): bye; pinned by Cooper Jedlicka, BCLB, 4:00; pinned by Hayden Truax, BHV, 3:22.

Zach Hocking (195): bye; pinned by Beau Blumer, BGMR, :39; won minor decision over Zach Newman, Hib, 7-4; lost minor decision to Dillon Massey, SM, 10-4.

Jacob Bittmann (220): bye; pinned by Anthony Miller, WCA, :52; pinned Hunter Cukla, MW, 1:42; lost major decision to Felix Longoria, Crook, 15-2.


Chris Baxter (285): pinned Cammron Powel, BHV, :27; pinned Jake Langer, Hold, :59; pinned by Jacob Filk, Hutch, 1:21; pinned Izac Austad, LN, 2:19; pinned Alex Settlemeyer, Barn, 4:23; pinned by Drew Hawk, DGF, 2:54; pinned by Wyatt Yoemans, Bem, 5:58 (6th).


United North Central results

Tyler Thomas (113): pinned by Riley Eidsmoe, Ros, :41; pinned by Matt Munsterman, MAHA, 2:43.

Austin Bacon (126): pinned Braydon Bertram, BHV, :54; lost minor decision to Shawn Neisen, MW, 4-3; won major decision over Nathan Onstad, FF, 14-3; won minor decision over Jayden Mackedanz, Hutch, 6-3; won minor decision over Jack Braton, Ait, 8-4; lost minor decision to Chandoler Mooney, Ros, 4-2; won minor decision over Eric Lisson, SM, 5-0 (7th).

Cade LaCoe (132): pinned by Riley Drew, Hutch, 1:23; lost minor decision to Ray Pierce, Hib, 6-4.

Tom Tellers (138): pinned Tommy Snobl, FB, 1:05; won major decision over Cody Gagner, RLCC, 11-3; lost minor decision to Dylon Sauceda, Bem, 11-5; won 17-1 technical fall over Tyler Gunderson, DR, 5:00; won minor decision over Nick Kaml, BGMR, 4-3; lost minor decision to Travis Osby, MAHA, 10-5; won minor decision over Sauceda 3-2 (5th).

Drew Hendrickson (145): lost minor decision to Carter Wright, W-DC, 10-4; won by injury default over Trent Dufault, DGF; pinned by Joe Morris, BL, 4:03.


Lenny Wright (152): pinned by Seth Anderson, LN, 2:45; pinned Kyle Gagner, RLCC, 3:22; lost minor decision to Kyle Mickelson, WCA, 4-0.

Tyler Eckman (160): lost minor decision to Mason Frenzel, BCLB, 10-3; pinned Hunter Gullickson, BGMR, 5:53; pinned by Chris Jackson, Ait, 4:22.

Tanner Bacon (170): pinned Dominic Suomi, Vir, 1:05; pinned Jordon Mackner, DL, 2:39; pinned by Jonathan Hoffner, MW, :05; pinned Zach Nelson, PR, 1:46; pinned by Holton Truax, BHV, 2:44; pinned Josh  Filk, Hutch, 3:38 (7th).

Craig Isaacson (182): pinned by Blake Amundson, WCA, 5:57; won minor decision over Ryan Pierson, Hib, 3-2; pinned by Jake Brinkman, TRF, 2:27.

Tristan Palmer (195): bye; pinned Billy Johann, Zim, 2:51; pinned Isaac Malone, W-DC, :59; won minor decision over Wyatt Juhl, BL, 5-0; lost minor decision to Hunter Fick, WCA, 7-4 (2nd).

Jared Seibert (220): pinned by Dillon O’Leary, BL, :34; pinned by Ethan Halvorson, TRF, :35.

Alex Eckman (285): pinned by Alec Gausman, MAHA, :32; pinned by Jarod Rabbit, DR, :16.

1982 Dawson-Boyd High School graduate
1987 Moorhead State University graduate
Sports reporter for Park Rapids Enterprise since 1987
What To Read Next
Get Local