Area wrestlers advance to Super Regionals

Park Rapids and United North Central combined to have 11 still competing for state berths.

BD-Wrestling Graph.jpg

Park Rapids qualified three wrestlers while United North Central advanced eight wrestlers to the Super Regionals during the Section 8A tournament at Crookston on Tuesday, March 16.

This year’s section meet was different as the top four wrestlers at each weight qualified for the Super Regionals, which will be held at Cass Lake on Saturday (March 20). Because the top four finishers advanced, there were no section championship or third-place matches held. The Section 8A qualifiers will wrestle against the Section 7A qualifiers in one of the four state Class A preliminaries. The top two wrestlers in each weight class at the four Super Regionals will advance to the state Class A tournament, which will be held at St. Michael-Albertville High School on March 27.

Winning both of their matches to advance to section finals were Park Rapids’ Robby Sherk at 106 pounds and Lucas Kritzeck at 145. Reaching the section finals for UNC were Hunter Skaro at 126, Ethan Hendrickson at 132, Hank Tellers at 152, Logan Torma at 170, Torrey Carlson at 195 and Marcus Peterson at 285.

Also qualifying for the Super Regionals by reaching third-place matches were Park Rapids’ Wrigley Clark at 113 and the Warriors’ Dylan Rasmussen at 138 and Dakota Meech at 160.

Sherk and Kritzeck pinned both of their opponents while Hendrickson and Peterson pinned their opponents after receiving byes in the quarterfinals. Skaro had a pin and a major decision, Tellers posted two major decisions, Torma had a minor decision after receiving a bye, and Carlson followed a pin with a major decision.


Also wrestling for the Panthers were Eli Burton at 120, Jarrett Galzki at 126, Henry Thorson at 132, Matt Dahring at 138, Zach Paurus at 152, Tristan Hill at 195 and D’Andre Johnson at 220.

The other section entrants for UNC were Zack Davidson at 106, Zach Hendrickson at 113, Shawn Hendrickson at 182 and Cooper Hasbargen at 220.

Advancing to the Super Regionals for Walker-Hackensack-Akeley/Nevis during the Section 7A tournament were Dawson McGee at 113 and Callen Whitney at 132.

Park Rapids results
Robby Sherk (106): pinned Christian Berg, BGMR, :38; pinned Cade Nagel, Frazee, 3:54.
Wrigley Clark (113): won minor decision over Elliott Isane, BGMR, 2-0; pinned by Aiden Wolfe, Fosston/Bagley, 1:31; pinned Sebastian Sonnenberg, Frazee, 1:02.
Eli Burton (120): pinned by Zach Hendrickson, United North Central, :59; pinned by Bailey Peichel, Frazee, 5:37.
Jarrett Galzki (126): pinned by Christian Carlson, Frazee, 1:29; won major decision over Curt Green, Fosston/Bagley, 8-0; pinned by Garret Eiynck, Mahnomen/Waubun, :52.
Henry Thorson (132): pinned by Tony Olson, BGMR, 1:24; lost major decision to Cameron Weiland, Crookston, 12-2.
Matt Dahring (138): pinned by Kaden Hiemenz, Frazee, :55; pinned by Wesley Ramberg, Fertile-Beltrami, 1:03.
Lucas Kritzeck (145): pinned Joseph Slette, Mahnomen/Waubun, :43; pinned Seth Lavalier, Fertile-Beltrami, 1:55.
Zach Paurus (152): pinned by Preston Mayfield, Frazee, :43; pinned by Kaden Sanford, Fosston/Bagley, :47.
Tristan Hill (195): pinned by Torrey Carlson, United North Central, 2:52; lost minor decision over Tyler Stuhaug, Fertile-Beltrami, 10-3.
D’Andre Johnson (220): pinned by Micah Herbel, Fertile-Beltrami, 1:02; pinned by Hunter Kresl, Crookston, 1:05.
United North Central results
Zack Davidson (106): lost by 19-2 technical fall to Daunte Yost, Fertile-Beltrami, 3:24; pinned by Noah Halberg, Fosston/Bagley, 1;35.
Zach Hendrickson (120): pinned Eli Burton, Park Rapids, :59; pinned by Zach Brown, Crookston, 3:00; lost minor decision to Tyler Henderson, Fertile-Beltrami, 2-1.
Hunter Skaro (126): pinned Curt Green, Fosston/Bagley, :49; won major decision over Christian Carlson, Frazee, 8-0.
Ethan Hendrickson (132): bye; pinned Cameron Weiland, Crookston, :54.
Dylan Rasmussen (138): pinned Carter Bendickson, Mahnomen-Waubun, 2:43; pinned by Keegan Senger, Fosston/Bagley, 2:00; won major decision over Wesley Ramberg, Fertile-Beltrami, 17-5.
Hank Tellers (152): won major decision over Casey Weiland, Crookston, 16-2; won major decision over Will Olson, Mahnomen-Waubun, 10-2.
Dakota Meech (160): pinned Jayce Thompson, Fosston/Bagley, 1:35; lost minor decision over Ethan Waage, BGMR, 5-3; pinned Tatum Bement, Mahnomen/Waubun, 1:14.
Logan Torma (170): bye; won minor decision over Max Rue, Frazee, 9-8.
Shawn Hendrickson (182): lost major decision to Daniel Graham, Frazee, 10-2; pinned by Dane Schoenborn, Fosston/Bagley, :32.
Torrey Carlson (195): pinned Tristan Hill, Park Rapids, 2:52; won major decision over Nathan Waage, BGMR, 14-2.
Cooper Hasbargen (220): lost minor decision to Hunter Kresl, Crookston, 8-7; lost minor decision to Micah Herbel, Fertile-Beltrami, 8-3.
Marcus Peterson (285): bye; pinned JT Flynn, Fertile-Beltrami, 5:25.
Related Topics: WRESTLING
1982 Dawson-Boyd High School graduate
1987 Moorhead State University graduate
Sports reporter for Park Rapids Enterprise since 1987
What To Read Next
The Detroit Lakes-based collective also includes players from Frazee-Vergas, Perham, New York Mills and Park Rapids.
Warm temperatures and partial sun greeted 33 drivers, crews and riders for the opening day. Plus, a huge gathering of fans looked on in the special area created for fans’ viewing pleasure.
If accepted, the school would join Barnesville, Breckenridge, Dilworth-Glyndon-Felton, Hawley, Frazee, Pelican Rapids and Perham in 2024-25.
Katy Bloomquist Freitag of Park Rapids and Ryan Rogers of Bemidji finish the grueling competition.