Four pins and five forfeits led the United North Central wrestling team to a 58-21 victory over Deer River at Menahga on Friday, Feb. 19.

Deer River won the first two matches to build a 9-0 lead before the Warriors won seven of the next eight matches to take control. Zack Hendrickson built an 8-0 lead with a takedown and two nearfalls in the first period and a reversal in the second period that set up a pin at the 3:04 mark at 120 pounds. Hunter Skaro followed with a takedown and two nearfalls in the first period, a reversal in the second period, and a takedown and a nearfall in the third period for a 14-0 major decision at 126 as UNC claimed a 10-9 lead.

Ethan Hendrickson dominated his match late at 132 as a takedown in the first period, an escape and a takedown in the second period, and two takedowns and a nearfall in the third period provided a 13-2 advantage before the match ended with a pin at the 5:11 mark. Dylan Rasmussen followed with a pin in 28 seconds as UNC led 22-9.

Joel Isaacson at 152, Dakota Meech at 160 and Mason Plautz at 170 received forfeits to push the advantage to 40-15. A forfeit win by Torrey Carlson at 195, Henry Salmen’s pin in 3:43 at 220 and a forfeit win by Marcus Peterson at 285 capped off the scoring.

The win lifted UNC, which was rated No. 14 in this week’s state Class A poll, to 12-6 on the season while Deer River fell to 7-12.

Newsletter signup for email alerts
United North Central 58, Deer River 21
106: Tate Evans, DR, pinned Zack Davidson :57. 113: Zach Ikola, DR, minor decision over Reid Pinoniemi 11-5. 120: Zack Hendrickson, UNC, pinned Preston Reed 3:04. 126: Hunter Skaro, UNC, major decision over Nathias Parks 14-0. 132: Ethan Hendrickson, UNC, pinned Tygh Gullickson 5:11. 138: Dylan Rasmussen, UNC, pinned Colin Hart :28. 145: Tayten Erickson, DR, pinned Mason Palmer 1:23. 152: Joel Isaacson, UNC, won by forfeit. 160: Dakota Meech, UNC, won by forfeit. 170: Mason Plautz, UNC, won by forfeit. 182: Gus Thompson, DR, pinned Shawn Hendrickson 3:02. 195: Torrey Carlson, UNC, won by forfeit. 220: Henry Salmen, UNC, pinned Lee Perrington 3:43. 285: Marcus Peterson, UNC, won by forfeit.