Park Rapids’ Abby Morris contended for a state berth before placing fourth in singles at the Section 8A girls tennis tournament.

Morris entered the section meet at Fargo Courts Plus on Wednesday, Oct. 16 as the No. 3 seed and opened the tournament by eliminating No. 14 Olivia Urness of Roseau (a senior) 6-0, 6-1 and No. 6 Ava Yuska of Thief River Falls (a senior) 7-6 (7-5), 6-2.

In the semifinals on Thursday, Oct. 17, Morris was defeated by No. 2 Jade Lenius of Perham/New York Mills (a senior) 4-6, 6-3, 7-5. Lenius (who defeated Morris by scores of 6-2, 6-3 and 6-2, 6-1 during the regular season) went on to defeat No. 1 Emma Fagerstrom of Thief River Falls (a junior) 1-6, 7 -5, 7-6 (7-5) in the championship match.

Sophomore Maggie Dietrich of East Grand Forks, the No. 4 seed, defeated Morris 7-5, 6-4 in the third-place match to deny the Park Rapids sophomore a chance at a true-second match against Fagerstrom. Dietrich and Morris split matches during the regular season with Dietrich winning 6-4, 6-4 in a dual meet and Morris prevailing 4-6, 6-3, 10-7 in the quarterfinals of the section team tournament.

Park Rapids sophomore Rachael Herman, the No. 10 seed, was eliminated with a 6-1, 6-3 loss to Dietrich in a first-round match.

In the doubles tournament on Oct. 16, the Park Rapids duo of senior Jada Renneberg and freshman Mickey Clark opened with a 6-3, 6-4 win over the Perham/New York Mills senior duo of Malia Groff and Mirta Vorderbruggen, the No. 8 seed. Renneberg and Clark, the No. 9 seed, were eliminated with a 6-1, 6-0 loss to the Thief River Falls senior duo of Khloe Lund and Bela Nelson, the No. 1 seed.

Park Rapids freshmen Macy Goochey and Morgan Koppelman, the No. 11 seed, opened with a 6-2, 6-1 loss to the Crookston pair of sophomore Hayden Winjum and eighth grader Halle Winjum, the No. 6 seed.

Lund and Nelson went on to defeat Crookston juniors Emma Borowicz and Catherine Tiedemann, the No. 2 seed, 6-2, 7-5 in the championship match. The Winjums defeated East Grand Forks senior Delaney Aaker and sophomore Katelyn Farder, the No. 4 seed, 3-6, 7-6 (7-4), 6-3 in the third-place match.

The champions and runners-up in singles and doubles advance to the state Class A tournament, which will be held Thursday and Friday (Oct. 24-25) at the Reed-Sweatt Family Tennis Center in Minneapolis.

This will be the first time since 2007 that the Panthers haven’t been represented at the state Class A tournament.

First round
Emma Fagerstrom, Thief River Falls, over Elizabeth Vogt, Parkers Prairie, 6-0, 6-2; Ana Marquarrdt, Parkers Prairie, over Libby Hartman, Wadena-Deer Creek, 6-4, 3-6, 7-5; Madison Packer, Wadena-Deer Creek, over Charlene Grahn, Roseau, 6-2, 6-3; Maggie Dietrich, East Grand Forks, over Emma Osborn, Crookston, 6-2, 6-3; Abby Morris, Park Rapids, over Olivia Urness, Roseau, 6-0, 6-1; Ava Yuska, Thief River Falls, over Avery Beachy, Perham/New York Mills, 6-1, 6-0; Brynn Havis, East Grand Forks, over Rachael Herman, Park Rapids, 6-1, 6-3; Jade Lenius, Perham/New York Mills, over Hannah Lindemoen, Crookston, 6-0, 6-1.
Fagerstrom over Marquardt 6-0, 6-2; Dietrich over Packer 6-2, 7-6 (7-2); Morris over Yuska 7-6 (7-5), 6-2; Lenius over Havis 6-1, 6-4.
Fagerstrom over Dietrich 1-6, 6-4, 6-2; Lenius over Morris 4-6, 6-3, 7-5.
Lenius over Fagerstrom 1-6, 7-5, 7-6 (7-5) (title); Dietrich over Morris 7-5, 6-4 (third).
First round
Klhoe Lund/Bela Nelson, Thief River Falls, over Nevada Schulz/Katie Rae Fiemeyer, Wadena-Deer Creek, 6-0, 6-0; Jada Renneberg/Mickey Clark, Park Rapids, over Malia Groff/Mirta Vorderbruggen, Perham/New York Mills, 6-3, 6-4; Johanna Winkels/Kiera Radniecki, Perham/New York Mills, over Haylee Bennett/Maddy Verbout, Roseau, 6-4, 6-0; Delaney Aaker/Katelyn Farder, East Grand Forks, over Kaylee Ova/Ashley Peterson, Wadena-Deer Creek, 6-1, 6-0; Kiersten Flaig/Lindsay McFArlane, Roseau, over Reghan DeBoer/Maggie Reigstad, Parkers Prairie, 6-0, 6-0; Hayden WInjum/Halle Winjum, Crookston, over Macy Goochey/Morgan Koppelman, Park Rapids, 6-2, 6-1; Brea Prickett/Brooklyn Broadwell, Thief River Falls, over Aleah Oshie/Kate Johnson, East Grand Forks, 6-3, 6-2; Emma Borowwicz/Catherine Tiedemann, Crookston, over Hannah Samuelson/Aili Toyli, Parkers Prairie, 6-1, 6-0.
Lund/Nelson over Renneberg/Clark 6-1, 6-0; Aaker/Farder over Winkels/Radniecki 6-2, 6-2; Winjum/Winjum over Flaig/McFarlane 6-1, 4-6, 7-6 (7-4); Borowicz/Tiedemann over Prickett/Broadwell 6-4, 6-0.
Lund/Nelson over Aaker/Farder 6-3, 6-1/ Borowicz/Tiedemann over Winjum/Winjum 6-4, 6-2.
Lund/Nelson over Borowicz/Tiedemann 6-2, 7-5 (title); Winjum/Winjum over Aaker/Farder 3-6, 7-6 (7-4), 6-3 (third).

Mid-State excels

In addition to Lenius, he Mid-State Conference qualified a team, another singles player and two doubles teams to the state Class A tournament.

Pequot Lakes defeated Virginia 4-3 to win the Section 7A team title as the Patriots earned their first trip to state. Pequot Lakes was rated No. 7 and Virginia was rated No. 4 in the final state Class A poll. The Patriots will carry a 24-1 record to state.

Pequot Lakes sophomore Megan Muller captured the Section 7A singles title and will enter the state tournament as the No. 5 seed.

Staples-Motley qualified two doubles teams to state when juniors Haley Cichos and Jenna Dvorak won the title and senior Tasha Ackermann and junior Rose Han advanced by winning a true-second match at the Section 5A tournament.