Weather Forecast


Panthers' Harmon runs to all-conference honors

Julia Harmon finished 14th overall to earn top honors for the Park Rapids cross-country teams at Tuesday's Mid-State Conference meet at The Vintage Golf Course at Staples.

Harmon covered the 5K course in 22:03 to receive all-conference honorable mention honors. Holly Johnson justed miss Mid-State honors by placing 16th in 22:42. The top 10 runners received all-conference honors while the next five received honorable mention honors.

Whitney Steffel placed 30th in 24:22 and Mikaela Nelson finished 31st in 24:30 as Park Rapids fielded an incomplete team in the girls race.

Kira Sweeney clocked a 19:28 and Kyanna Burton followed in 20:19 to lead Staples-Motley to the girls title with 27 points. Pequot Lakes was second with 42 points with Long Prairie-Grey Eagle (85), Crosby-Ironton (86) and Detroit Lakes (92) following. Staples-Motley was rated No. 11 in the latest state Class A girls poll.

Staples-Motley also captured the boys title with 27 points as Emmet Anderson set the pace with a winning time of 16:02. Detroit Lakes was second with 38 points while Pequot Lakes (91), Crosby-Ironton (93), Park Rapids (134) and LP-GE (165) followed. Anderson was rated as the No. 3 runner in the latest state Class A boys poll while Staples-Motley was rated No. 3 in the Class A team poll.

Leading the Panthers were Keegan Moses (19th in 18:23) and Seth Breitweser (21st in 18:43). Rounding out Park Rapids' team score were Ashton Clark (29th in 19:52), Skylar Hagen (31st in 20:24) and Sam Warne (34th in 21:06). Following were Owen Wagner (35th in 21:07) and Gabe Bagstad (36th in 21:12). Marcus Benson (21:13) and Blaine Hensel (21:18) were junior varsity finishers.

Pierce DeBlieck finished 21st in the boys 3,200-meter junior high race with a time of 11:38.

"I thought they did pretty well. Most runners had their best times at Perham, and not Staples, but it was uglier weather and a hillier course," said Park Rapids head coach Kerry Johnson. "Our conference is really tough this year; there is so much talent. Even though it was our smallest meet in participants, it was just as tough as the bigger meets."

The Panthers host their annual invitational meet at Headwaters Golf Course on Monday. The junior high races begin at 4 p.m. followed by the varsity girls (at approximately 4:30) and the varsity boys (at approximate 5).

"I hope they come out ready to run Monday," said Johnson. "It's nice not to have a bus ride and to have the hometown crowd. I hope that impacts their runs in a positive way."

Girls team scores: Staples-Motley 27, Pequot Lakes 42, Long Prairie-Grey Eagle 85, Crosby-Ironton 86, Detroit Lakes 92, Park Rapids incomplete.

Individual results

1, Kira Sweeney, SM, 19:28. 2, Kyanna Burton, SM, 20:19. 3, Rian Zutter, PL, 20:20. 4, Calia Chaney, PL, 20:23. 5, Carly Chaney, PL, 20:40. 6, Addison Lorber, SM, 20:40. 7, Sarah Bostrom, CI, 20:51. 8, Ashley Robben, SM, 20:53. 9, Caroline Kuehne, LPGE, 20:55. 10, Addisyn Chicos, SM, 21:22. 11, Lily Peterson, CI, 21:38. 12, Savanah McCoy, LPGE, 21:47. 13, Katie McConkey, DL, 21:52. 14, Julia Harmon, PR, 22:03. 15, Ellie Flaws, PL, 22:36. 16, Holly Johnson, PR, 22:42. 30, Whitney Steffel, PR, 24:22. 31, Mikaela Nelson, PR, 24:30.

Boys team scores: Staples-Motley 27, Detroit Lakes 38, Pequot Lakes 91, Crosby-Ironton 93, Park Rapids 134, Long Prairie-Grey Eagle 165.

Individual results

1, Emmet Anderson, SM, 16:02. 2, Tanner Olson, DL, 16:40. 3, Hunter Klimek, SM, 16:42. 4, Peyton Nordby, DL, 17:27. 5, Tanner Robben, SM, 17:32. 6, Tucker Ringhand, CI, 17:34. 7, Bentley Christensen, SM, 17:36. 8, Tucker Strawsell, DL, 17:38. 9, Ethan Johnson, PL, 17:39. 10, Grant Fritch-Gallatin, DL, 17:40. 11, Jack Tyrrell, SM, 17:51. 12, Caleb Bugnacki, CI, 17:53. 13, Jesse Clausen, PL, 18:00. 14, Elijah Kitzman, DL, 18:01. 15, Luke Brownell, SM, 18:04. 19, Keegan Moses, PR, 18:23. 21, Seth Breitweser, PR, 18:43. 29, Ashton Clark, PR, 19:52. 31, Skylar Hagen, PR, 20:24. 34, Sam Warne, PR, 21:06. 35, Owen Wagner, PR, 21:07. 36, Gabe Bagstad, PR, 21:12. JV: Marcus Benson, PR, 21:13; Blaine Hensel, PR, 21:18.