Nevis' Rypkema, McNamee lead local runners at W-DC Invitational


Nevis' Jade Rypkema and Jack McNamee were the top area runners at Thursday's Wadena-Deer Creek Invitational cross-country meet at Whitetail Run Golf Course.

Rypkema finished sixth overall in the girls 5K race with a time of 22:10 as Nevis' lone runner.

Park Rapids also had an incomplete team with three runners. Julia Harmon led the Panthers by placing 12th in 23:14 while Holly Johnson finished 14th in 23:18. Whitney Steffel was Park Rapids' No. 3 runner with a time of 25:45 for 35th place.

Kira Sweeney led the field with a winning time of 20:24 in leading Staples-Motley to the team title with 20 points. Wadena-Deer Creek finished second in this meet with 50 points. Only four of the 13 schools had complete teams with at least five runners in the girls meet.

In the boys race, McNamee finished 11th overall in 18:35 while Michael Gunn was 30th in 19:51 as Nevis had only two runners compete.

Park Rapids finished sixth with 157 points with Seth Breitweser (13th in 18:45) and Keegan Moses (14th in 18:46) leading the way. Rounding out the Panthers' team score were Gabe Bagstad (48th in 21:22), Sam Warne (49th in 21:25) and Owen Wagner (53rd in 21:40). Also competing for the Panthers were Marcus Benson (60th in 21:58) and Skylar Hagen (61st in 22:00).

Emmet Anderson clocked a winning 5K time of 16:54 and Hunter Klimek followed in 17:22 in leading Staples-Motley to the title with 27 points. W-DC took second in the 13-team field with 74 points. Ten schools had complete boys teams in this meet, which was postponed on Sept. 4.

Boys team scores: Staples-Motley 27, Wadena-Deer Creek 74, Ottertail Central 75, Little Falls 115, Dilworth-Glyndon-Felton 130, Park Rapids 157, Brandon-Evansville 200, New York Mills 223, Long Prairie-Grey Eagle 224, Wheaton 245. Incomplete teams: Nevis, Minnewaska Area, Parkers Prairie.

Individual results

1, Emmet Anderson, S-M, 16:54. 2, Hunter Klimek, SM, 17:22. 3, Jackson Grant, LF, 18:04. 4, Lucas Hinojos, WDC, 18:10. 5, Ben Bartczak, SM, 18:11. 11, Jack McNamee, Nevis, 18:35. 13, Seth Breitweser, PR, 18:45. 14, Keegan Moses, PR, 18:46. 30, Michael Gunn, Nevis, 19:51. 48, Gabe Bagstad, PR, 21:22. 49, Sam Warne, PR, 21:25. 53, Owen Wagner, PR, 21:40. 60, Marcus Benson, PR, 21:58. 61, Skylar Hagen, PR, 22:00. JV: Jack Johnson, Nevis, 21:50; Blaine Hensel, PR, 24:47.

Girls team scores: Staples-Motley 20, Wadena-Deer Creek 50, Little Falls 52, Long Prairie-Grey Eagle 104. Incomplete teams: Nevis, Park Rapids, Minnewaska Area, Dilworth-Glyndon-Felton, Ottertail Central, Wheaton, Brandon-Evansville, Ottertail Central, Laporte.

Individual results

1, Kira Sweeney, SM, 20:24. 2, Abby Motschenbacher, WDC, 21;03. 3, Kyanna Burton, SM, 21:18. 4, Addison Lorber, SM, 22:00. 5, Ashley Robben, SM, 22:01. 6, Jade Rypkema, Nevis, 22:10. 12, Julia Harmon, PR, 23:14. 14, Holly Johnson, PR, 23:18. . 34, Whitney Steffel, PR, 25:45.