Weather Forecast


1983 football team to join Hall of Fame

The 1983 Park Rapids football team will be inducted into the Panther Athletic Hall of Fame during the 41st annual All Sports Banquet on Wednesday, May 23.

That football team made history by advancing to the Class A championship game. After posting a 9-0 record during the regular season, the Panthers marched through the state Class A playoffs with wins over Crookston (13-9) in the first round, Cloquet (17-15) in the quarterfinals and Albany (14-6) in the semifinals before falling to Hutchinson (34-14) in the championship game.

Members of that team were seniors Mike Baumgartner, JC Boyd, Scott Disney, Tony Hicks, Andy Kueber, Jim Lassila, Bill May, Pat Moore, Mitch Nelson, Jeff Packer, Chris Pike, Craig Rossman, Dan Wattenhofer and manager Loren James; juniors Dave Benson, Scott Burlingame, Chad Buscho, David DeLaHunt, Mark Glessing, Steve Hanke, Karl May, Steve Roll, Daryl Wattenhofer, Tim Wheeler, Dean Yocum and Ryan Zitzer; sophomores Jack Ainley, Jon Bloomquist, Tim Chiemelewski, Dean Christofferson, Tony Davis, Tom Deschane, Tyler Falk, Kent Fritze, Scott Larison, Keith Lingle, Dave Lymburner, Bill Magnuson, Pat Mikesh, Ray Olson and George Schmaus; and freshman manager Dave Hanson. Andy McCarty was the head coach while Tom Conzemius, Ardon Buscho, Mark Sween, Jim Chiemelewski and Bob Kapsner were the assistant coaches.

Players and coaches from that team will be admitted free to the All Sports Banquet and should RSVP to Dottie Seifert at 237-6600.

The public is also invited to attend. Tickets for the program are $5, which includes dessert and beverages. Call Seifert to make a reservation or stop by the Park Rapids Area High School office.

Seating for the banquet will begin at 5:30 p.m. at the Area High School gym with the program starting at 6 p.m. The reservation deadline is May 16.

The banquet is organized by the Park Rapids Coaches Association.