Weather Forecast


Panthers win two duals at Wadena

Jack Hensel, Zach Hocking and Dwayne Johnson recorded key wins down the stretch in helping the Park Rapids wrestling team defeat Crosby-Ironton and Wadena-Deer Creek in a triangular meet at Wadena Tuesday night.

Hocking received a forfeit at 220 pounds and Johnson followed with a pin in 1:46 at 285 in rallying the Panthers to a 39-36 Mid-State Conference win over Crosby-Ironton in the first dual. Park Rapids completed the sweep as pins by Hensel and Hocking and a forfeit win by Johnson in the final three matches sealed a 51-24 victory over Wadena-Deer Creek.

In the first match, Ashton Clark's forfeit win at 120 and Kobe Burton's pin in 1:19 at 132 were the only wins for the Panthers in the early going as C-I used four forfeits and a pin to build a 30-12 advantage. Joe Klein used three takedowns for a 6-3 minor decision at 152, Landen Burlingame recorded a pin in 2:26 at 160 and Cody Dravis recorded a pin in 31 seconds at 170 as the Panthers cut the deficit to 30-27. The Rangers prevailed with one-point minor decisions in the next two matches for a 36-27 advantage before Park Rapids rallied for the win.

In the victory against W-DC, Lucas Kritzeck used three takedowns for a 7-1 minor decision at 106 before Clark and Burton received forfeits as the Panthers jumped out to an 15-6 lead. W-DC used two forfeits to claim an 18-15 advantage before Klein's pin in 3:57 at 145, Burlingame's pin in 1:38 at 152 and Dravis' pin in 1:17 at 170 gave Park Rapids a 33-18 lead. Hensel's pin in 5:11 at 195, Hocking's pin in 1:32 at 220 and Johnson's forfeit win at 285 sealed the win as the Panthers improved to 8-11 in dual meets.

Park Rapids 39, Crosby-Ironton 36

106: Jon Paul Fitzpatrick, CI, won by forfeit. 113: Aeden Voss, CI, pinned Lucas Kritzeck 1:45. 120: Ashton Clark, PR, won by forfeit. 126: Nate Williams, CI, won by forfeit. 132: Kobe Burton, PR, pinned Hayden McGowan 1:19. 138: Jake Klancher, CI, won by forfeit. 145: Kaven Blazek, CI, won by forfeit. 152: Joe Klein, PR, minor decision over Josh Mienert 6-3. 160: Landen Burlingame, PR, pinned Austin Johnson 2:26. 170: Cody Dravis, PR, pinned Zach Bennett :31. 182: Gabe Ryappy, CI, minor decision over Kian Scott 5-4. 195: Taylor Eigenheer, CI, minor decision over Jack Hensel 4-3. 220: Zach Hocking, PR, won by forfeit. 285: Dwayne Johnson, PR, pinned Kyle Blazek 1:46.

Park Rapids 51, Wadena-Deer Creek 24

106: Lucas Kritzeck, PR, minor decision over Simon Snyder 7-1. 113: Bel Snyder, WDC, won by forfeit. 120: Ashton Clark, PR, won by forfeit. 126: Kobe Burton, PR, won by forfeit. 132: Jayson Young, WDC, won by forfeit. 138: Isaac Hall, WDC, won by forfeit. 145: Joe Klein, PR, pinned Mitchel Haman 3:57. 152: Landen Burlingame, PR, pinned Garret Reding 1:38. 160: Double forfeit. 170: Cody Dravis, PR, pinned Cody Wheeler 1:17. 182: Steven Erkenbrack, WDC, pinned Dawson Roth 1:46. 195: Jack Hensel, PR, pinned Jericho Baker 5:11. 220: Zach Hocking, PR, pinned Logan Wegscheid 1:32. 285: Dwayne Johnson, PR, won by forfeit.