Weather Forecast


Fosston/Bagley defeats Warriors in section quarterfinal match

Fosston/Bagley won five straight matches, including three via forfeits, in the late going for a 46-29 win over the United North Central wrestling team in the quarterfinals of the Section 8A tournament Saturday at Thief River Falls.

UNC, the No. 6 seed, built a 23-16 lead before No. 3 Fosston/Bagley rallied for the win.

Hank Tellers opened the meet with a 15-0 technical fall win at 106 pounds before Ethan Trout's pin in 1:00 at 126, Eion Ness' 4-2 decision at 132, Torrey Carlson's 2-0 overtime decision at 138 and Toby Hintzman's pin in 2:31 at 152 gave the Warriors the lead.

Fosston/Bagley used two pins and three forfeits in the next five matches to build a 46-23 lead before Jared Seibert's pin in 1:42 at 285 ended the match.

The Warriors end the season with a 6-16 record in dual meets while Fosston/Bagley improved to 17-6.

In Saturday's first-round match, No. 8 Mahnomen-Waubun defeated No. 9 Red Lake County Central 65-18 before falling to No. 1 Frazee 77-0 in the quarterfinals. No. 4 Crookston edged No. 5 Roseau 39-31 and No. 2 Badger-Greenbush-Middle River defeated No. 7 Fertile-Beltrami 75-6 in the other quarterfinal matches. Frazee eliminated Crookston 68-7 and BGMR eliminated Fosston/Bagley 36-34 in the semifinals before Frazee defeated BGMR 52-16 in the championship match. Frazee, which is rated No. 2 in the latest state Class A poll, advances to the state tournament with a 27-7 record.

Crookston will host the Section 8A individual tournament Friday and Saturday.

Fosston/Bagley 46, UNC 29

106: Hank Tellers, UNC, technical fall over Keegan Senger 15-0. 113: Christian Schmidt, FB, pinned Isaac Tellers 2:32. 120: Brayden Sorenson, FB, pinned Tucker Holmer 4:53. 126: Ethan Trout, UNC, pinned Kaden Sanford 1:00. 132: Eion Ness, UNC, minor decision over Carter Sorenson 4-2. 138: Torrey Carlson, UNC, minor decision over Dane Schoenborn 2-0 (ot). 145: Alex Wolfe, FB, major decision over Bridger Bettin 11-1. 152: Toby Hintzman, UNC, pinned Henry Burrack 2:31. 160: Cole Olson, FB, pinned Dakota Meech 1:26. 170: Teigen Hextell, FB, pinned Gator Bettin 1:44. 182: Jacob Lomen, FB, won by forfeit. 195: Evan Chalich, FB, won by forfeit. 220: Jake Ubert, FB, won by forfeit. 285: Jared Seibert, UNC, pinned Axel Munter 1:42.