SUBSCRIBE NOW Just 99¢ for your first month



Student news

Area students are recognized for their accomplishments.

Online education, school study course, e-learning class, e-book
Celebrating student accomplishments.
Adobe Stock.
We are part of The Trust Project.

MSUM Dean’s List

The following area students have been named to the Minnesota State University Moorhead Dean’s List in recognition of academic achievement fall semester 2021. Students must maintain a 3.25 or higher grade point average and carry 12 graded credits to qualify for the honor. 

Park Rapids: Evan Booge, Anna Crist, Kevin Erickson, Tori Hilmanowski, Zachary Hocking, Farren Mooney, Penelope Van Batavia and Anthony Wurdock;

Laporte: Hayley Hackbarth and Ethan Stute;

Menahga: Jamie Erno, Megan Hendrickson, Samantha Jewel and Courtney Koebernick;

Nevis: Emily Roach and


Akeley: Erin Tooker.

Alexandria Tech Dean’s List

Several students were named to the Alexandria Technical & Community College Dean’s List for achieving a GPA of 3.5 or higher during the fall semester: Edison Kramer of Akeley; Jon Kicker of Menahga; Ian Ahrendt, Ethan Klimek, Addison Lindow, Kiley Lindow, Megan Lindow, Molly Lindow, Spencer Lindow, Evan Pohl, Jade Rypkema and Samara Walker of Nevis; and Josiah Bloom, Liddy DeWulf, Marissa Engst and Jon Rice of Park Rapids.

Central Lakes honors

Central Lakes College, with campuses in Brainerd and Staples, has announced its 2021 fall semester honors list.

Area students on the President’s List for earning a grade-point average of 3.75 to 4.0 while enrolled for at least 12 credits are: Nicole Bayman and Eugene Ross of Akeley, Joshua Schueller of Laporte and Shelly Juaire of Park Rapids.

Students on the Dean’s List with a grade point average of 3.25 to 3.74 are: Carter Hasbargen and Keaton Juntunen of Menahga and Taylor Edelman of Park Rapids.

M State graduates

Several area students graduated from Minnesota State Community and Technical College at the end of fall semester. They are:

Menahga: Stephanie Myers (accounting transfer pathway and payroll specialist) and Amanda Pachel (administrative support);

Park Rapids: Elizabeth Bradt (nursing); and


Sebeka: Nathan Granroth (liberal arts and sciences), Mason Heino (liberal arts and sciences), Megan Lugert (accounting transfer pathway, accounting clerk and payroll specialist) and Mindy Tangeman (nursing).

Area students recognized

Charley Walsh of Park Rapids was named to the fall semester Dean's List at the University of Minnesota Crookston for completing 12 or more letter-graded credits while attaining a 3.66 grade point average.

Ruby Blake of Park Rapids was named to the Dean's List at Wheaton College for the fall semester.To earn Dean's List honors at Wheaton, an undergraduate student must carry 12 or more credit hours and achieve a 3.5 grade point average or higher on the 4.0 scale. Wheaton College is a coeducational Christian liberal arts college in Wheaton, Illinois.

Paige Johnson of Park Rapids has been named to the Dean’s List at Northern State University in Aberdeen, S. Dak. for earning a grade point average of 3.5 or higher.

Madeline Guida of Park Rapids was named to the Dean’s List at University of Wisconsin in Eau Claire.

Kendal Stevenson of Park Rapids has been named toSouthern New Hampshire University' s fall President's List. Full-time undergraduate students who have earned a minimum grade-point average of 3.7 and above are named to the President's List.

Emma Mischke of Laporte and Nicole Nelson of Akeley were named to the fall Dean’s List at the College of St. Scholastica for achieving a 3.75 grade point average or above on a 4.0 scale.


Related Topics: STUDENT NEWS
What to read next
Eight students from Nevis High School graduated from Alexandria Technical and Community College with their Associate of Arts degree on May 11: Ian Ahrendt, Samara Walker, Tyler Lindow, Edison Kramer, Megan Lindow, Reese Mowel, Sonja Habedank and Marissa Engst.
One unit in the Village Apartments behind Zappy’s restaurant in Akeley was hit by a vehicle Monday afternoon. A cinder block/concrete block wall in one of the seven units took the hit.
The Menahga School Board also approved a preK-8th grade and 9th-12th grade building configuration, beginning with the 2022-23 school year.
Hubbard County has welcomed two Minnesota GreenCorps members in the past. Members spend a year of service addressing critical environmental issues, while gaining valuable experience and job skills.