LaRoque wins secretary-treasurer race in White Earth; Fox, Sommers win races for Tribal Council

Mike LaRoque defeated Umsy Tibbetts for the secretary-treasurer position.

WE winning candidates.jpg
From left are Michael LaRoque, Eugene Sommers and Henry George Fox, winners of the White Earth General Election on Tuesday, June 14, 2022.
Contributed/White Earth Nation
We are part of The Trust Project.

WHITE EARTH, MINN. – Michael “Mike” LaRoque defeated Eugene “Umsy” Tibbetts, 886 votes to 821, for secretary-treasurer in the White Earth Reservation General Election Tuesday, June 14.

Henry George Fox edged incumbent Raymond J. Auginaush Sr., 194 votes to 168, for District I representative on the five-member Tribal Council, and Eugene Sommers topped Tara Mason, 389 votes to 281, in the District II representative race. All three positions are four-year terms.

Here are the official results, according to a White Earth news release:


  • Michael “Mike” LaRoque: 886 votes, or 51.90%
  • Eugene “Umsy” Tibbetts: 821 votes, or 48.10%

District I Representative

  • Henry George Fox: 194 votes, or 53.59%
  • Raymond J. Auginaush Sr.: 168 votes, or 46.41%

District II Representative

  • Eugene Sommers: 389 votes, or 58.06%
  • Tara Mason: 281 votes, or 41.94%

It did not affect the results, but LaRoque gained 10 votes and Mason lost one vote when the election results were officially certified Wednesday, June 15.

Official results for the White Earth General Election on June 14, 2022.
Contributed/White Earth Nation

Related Topics: ELECTION 2022WHITE EARTH
What to read next
While many high school seniors are still undecided about their future career, Nevis senior Josiah Bloom is pursuing his dream of making a difference in the world through law and politics.
On Aug. 8, the transportation director gave the school board the first of what he said will be monthly reports going forward.
The city's levy and budget may increase up to 2% on the year.
Helena Skadberg of Park Rapids was named to the Dean's list at St. Olaf’s College for earning a grade point average of 3.75 or higher on a 4-point scale during the spring semester.