Filing is closed; here are Hubbard County’s candidates

All, but one incumbent is running unopposed.

Election 2022 in United States
Election 2022 in United States
gguy -
We are part of The Trust Project.

The candidate filing period for county offices closed on Tuesday, May 31.

The general election will be held Nov. 8.

Hubbard County Board

Due to redistricting, four of the five Hubbard County commissioners are up for reelection this year.

David De La Hunt (District 1), Char Christenson (District 2) and Ted Van Kempen (District 5) are running unopposed.

Incumbent Tom Krueger is being challenged by Teresa Walsh for District 3.


Walsh said, “I would like to use my vast experience as a former employee of Hubbard County, along with my educational background, to help serve the citizens of our county.”

She has a bachelor’s degree in public administration, with a minors in accounting and economics from St. Cloud State University.

Walsh recently retired, having been a public servant for more than 36 years.

“During my tenure with the county I worked in the following departments: Social Services (five years), assessor’s (two years), Heritage Living Center (21 years), and finally, the administrators and Human Resources Department (8 years),” she said. “My final eight years of employment, I served as the coordinator’s assistant, human resources assistant and finally, human resources specialist.”

Walsh added, “I have a clear understanding of the current challenges of recruiting and retaining county staff. I know many department managers and have a working knowledge of all positions. Department HR budget data input also gave me valuable understanding of county budget data and what it means.”

Elected in 2018, Krueger is completing his first term as county commissioner.

A Navy veteran, he has a degree in forest technology. He was a forest research specialist for 13 years for the International Paper Company.

In 1990, Krueger and his wife bought Sunny Point Resort on 2nd Crow Wing Lake, successfully running it for more than 20 years.


Krueger served on the Hubbard County Planning Commission/Board of Adjustment for 18 years. He has been a realtor for five years.

Krueger added that his variety of experiences are an important attribute of a county commissioner.

County sheriff

Cory Aukes filed for a fourth term as Hubbard County Sheriff. There are no challengers. A 1988 graduate of Park Rapids High School, Aukes then attended Bemidji State University and received a degree in criminal justice. With 32 years in law enforcement, Aukes started his career in 1990 with the Hubbard County Sheriff’s Office.

County attorney

Incumbent county attorney Jonathan Frieden is running unopposed.

Appointed in April 2017 and elected in November 2018, Frieden has been the county attorney for over five years.

“ I can say that it’s been a privilege and honor to serve and work in the interests of Hubbard County citizens,” he said. “I hope to continue to do so, with emphasis on defending victim’s rights and children who need protection. Hubbard County is a county filled with fantastic people, and I am blessed to call it my home. I look forward to another term as the Hubbard County Attorney.”

Soil & Conservation District

Three Hubbard County Soil and Water Conservation District (SWCD) supervisors – Districts 3, 4 and 5 – are on the November ballot. SWCD supervisors serve four-year terms.

Donald Sells and Lynn Goodrich are running unopposed for District 4 and District 5, respectively.


Heidi Anderson-Thomas is the sole candidate in the special election for District 3. She was appointed to the position in 2021.

Shannon Geisen is editor of the Park Rapids Enterprise.
What to read next
While many high school seniors are still undecided about their future career, Nevis senior Josiah Bloom is pursuing his dream of making a difference in the world through law and politics.
On Aug. 8, the transportation director gave the school board the first of what he said will be monthly reports going forward.
The city's levy and budget may increase up to 2% on the year.
Helena Skadberg of Park Rapids was named to the Dean's list at St. Olaf’s College for earning a grade point average of 3.75 or higher on a 4-point scale during the spring semester.