We see that you have javascript disabled. Please enable javascript and refresh the page to continue reading local news. If you feel you have received this message in error, please contact the customer support team at 1-833-248-7801.



Election filings open Aug. 2 for local races

Filing for local races for mayor, city council and school board is open Aug. 2-16.

Election 2022 in United States
Election 2022 in United States
gguy - stock.adobe.com
We are part of The Trust Project.

Filing is open Aug. 2-16 for a number of positions on school boards and city councils that will be on the November ballot.

Park Rapids City Council

The city council seats currently held by Tom Conway and Erika Randall are up for election this year, each with a four-year term. Conway has stated that he is not running for re-election. Also, there will be an election for a two-year term as mayor.

Nevis City Council

The city council seats currently held by Blair Reuther and Katie Rittgers will be in play in the November election, with Rittgers stepping down as of Aug. 31. The seats have four-year terms. Also, there will be an election for a two-year term as mayor.

Menahga City Council

Seats on the Menahga City Council held by Robyn Keranen and Art Huebner are up for election this year, with a four-year term. There will also be an election for a two-year term as mayor.

Akeley City Council

Three seats on the Akeley City Council are up for election, all for four year terms. They are for seats currently held by Nate George, Billy Krotzer and Dan Riggs.


Park Rapids School Board

Three seats on the Park Rapids School Board are up for election, currently held by Stephanie Carlson, Dennis Dodge and Clayton Hoyt. Each seat has a four-year term.

Nevis School Board

The seat on the Nevis School board vacated when Justin Isaacson resigned in June will be on the November ballot, along with seats currently held by Gary Stennes, Ed Becker and chair Andy Lindow. Three of the terms will be for four years and one term for two years.

Menahga School Board

Three school board members are up for election in Nov. 2022. The terms are four years each.

Those with terms expiring this year are Andrea Haverinen, Katie Howard and David Treinen.

Laporte School Board

School board members whose seats are up for election this fall are Joe Jorland, Lisa Price and Stephanie Zubke, all for four year terms, plus George Taylor’s seat for a two-year term. Price has stated she will not run for re-election, and Taylor stepped down July 1 to move out of state.

The statewide office doesn’t always grab headlines in an election year, and the work of the auditor is often not as political or high-profile as other offices says Julie Blaha, a DFLer who is running for her second term in the office.

Our newsroom occasionally reports stories under a byline of "staff." Often, the "staff" byline is used when rewriting basic news briefs that originate from official sources, such as a city press release about a road closure, and which require little or no reporting. At times, this byline is used when a news story includes numerous authors or when the story is formed by aggregating previously reported news from various sources. If outside sources are used, it is noted within the story.
What to read next
Principal Jeff Johnson held up Jeff Dravis's building trades class as an example of the progress students can make in only the first two weeks of school.
Ida Lake couple Duane Gebhard and Jennifer Therkilsen-Gebhard have been RVing to service projects around the country since 2017.
The "very preliminary" levy was set at the maximum amount, Business Manager Kent Fritze noted.
Ten percent of that levy increase – roughly $1.6 million – is a capture of new construction tax capacity from Enbridge’s Line 3 project