Incumbents sweep 9th District judicial races

Only two of the judges' seats were contested, both in Cass County.

FSA Court gavel 11-13-18

Incumbent judges Charles D. Halverson and Jana M. Austad were the winners of the only two contested judicial races for Minnesota’s 9th District, of which Hubbard County is a part.

Both contested courts are based in Cass County.

Austad presides over Court 19 and serves as the circuit’s assistant chief judge. She defeated challenger James Hughes 83,164 votes (60.5 percent) to 53,880 (39.1 percent). There were 453 write-ins.

Halverson presides over Court 4. He defeated Benjamin T. Lindstrom 79,740 votes (57.2 percent) to 59,201 (42.5 percent). There were 467 write-ins.

In Hubbard County’s Court 14, incumbent judge Robert D. Tiffany was re-elected by 118,792 votes to 918 write-ins.


In the 9th District’s other judicial races, incumbent judges received the following vote totals:

  • Matthew Mallie, Court 2 (Crow Wing County), 118,352 to 1,008.

  • D. Korey Wahwassuck, Court 5 (Itasca County), 118,836 to 960.

  • Anne M. Rasmusson, Court 11 (Mahnomen County), 120,160 to 940.

  • Sarah L. McBroom, Court 12 (Itasca County), 118,909 to 965.

  • Chief judge Tamara L. Yon, Court 15 (Polk County), 119,478 to 1,013.

  • Jeffrey S. Remick, Court 18 (Polk County), 118,395 to 1,138.

  • Patricia Aanes, Court 21 (Crow Wing County), 118,581 to 945.

  • Darlene Rivera Spalla, Court 22 (Mahnomen County), 118,541 to 992.

What To Read Next
Get Local