Hubbard County voters backed incumbent U.S. Sen. Tina Smith (DFL), her Republican challenger Jason Lewis, and incumbent Congressman Pete Stauber (R-Dist. 8) in Tuesday’s primary elections.

Election results are unofficial, pending official certification, but were as follows as of Wednesday morning, according to the office of the Minnesota Secretary of State, with all 38 precincts in Hubbard County reporting and 94.5 percent of statewide precincts reporting.

U.S. Representative

In the Dist. 8 Republican Congressional primary, Stauber received 1,365 (94.7 percent) of votes in the county, while 77 votes (5.3 percent) went to challenger Harry Robb Welty. Districtwide, Stauber won 32,733 votes to 2,226, a margin of 93.6 percent.

Opposition party candidates Judith Schwartzbacker (Grassroots-Legalize Cannabis) and Quinn Nystrom (DFL) ran unopposed. Nystrom received 1,219 votes in Hubbard County and 40,489 districtwide. Schwartzbacker received 17 votes at the county level and 425 districtwide.

Congressional District 8 includes Hubbard, Wadena, Cass and part of Beltrami County among others.

Newsletter signup for email alerts

In Dist. 7, which includes Becker, Clearwater and the rest of Beltrami County among others, incumbent Rep. Collin Peterson received the highest DFL vote total at 25,307 (75.6 percent) to defeat challengers Alycia R. Gurenhagen (5,579 votes, 16.7 percent) and Stephen A. Emery (2,585 votes, 7.7 percent).

In the Republican primary for Dist. 7, Michelle Fischbach led with 24,637 votes (59.3 percent) over four opponents, including Dave Hughes (9,200 votes, 22.2 percent) and Noel Collis (6,188 votes, 14.9 percent).

The Grassroots-Legalize Cannabis also had a contested primary for Congressional Dist. 7, won by Rae Hart Anderson with 200 votes (68.5 percent) over Kevin “NeSe” Shores (92 votes, 31.5 percent). Slater Johnson received 545 votes in an uncontested Legalize Marijuana Now primary.

U.S. Senate

In the Democratic-Farmer-Labor primary for U.S. Senate, Smith captured 1,314 (91.8 percent) of votes in Hubbard County, trailed by Steve Carlson (49 votes, 3.4 percent), Paula Overby (42 votes, 2.9 percent) and Christopher Lovell Seymore, Sr. (8 votes, 0.6 percent).

Statewide, Smith’s margin of victory was 87.1 percent with 461,044 votes, while her closest challenger was Overby with 27,408 votes (5.2 percent).

On the Republican side, Lewis clocked 1,107 (75.8 percent) of votes in the county, while Cynthia Gail received 120 votes (8.2 percent), John L. Berman received 107 (7.3 percent), James Reibestein received 71 (4.9 percent) and Bob “Again” Carney Jr. took 55 (3.77 percent).

Across the state, Lewis took 78.1 percent with 180,409 votes, while Gail took 16,599 votes (7.2 percent) and Berman took 15,424 (6.7 percent).

Running unopposed, Kevin O’Connor (Legal Marijuana Now) received 31 votes in Hubbard County and 6,561 statewide, while Oliver Steinberg (Grassroots-Legalize Cannabis) took 16 votes at the county level and 3,019 statewide.

State Senate

There was no primary race in Hubbard County for State Senator or State Representative.

However, in State Senate Dist. 9, which includes most of Wadena County, Senate Majority Leader Paul Gazelka received 4,631 votes, 83.55 percent of the Republican vote, over challenger Richard Dahl’s 912 votes (16.5 percent).

Running unopposed for the DFL nomination, A. John Peters received 2,151 votes.