The Menahga School Board held its organizational meeting on Tuesday.

Board chair Andrea Haverinen was reelected to the position, as was Durwin Tomperi as vice chair. Julie Kicker will again serve as treasurer and Katie Howard as clerk in 2020.

They agreed to increase the chair’s annual compensation from $1,200 to $1,800, to be paid on a monthly basis. The compensation for vice chair, clerk and treasurer will remain at $250 per year. For regular, special, committee meetings or workshops that are less than four hours, board members will be paid paid $80. If greater than four hours but less than six hours, the rate is $95. Meetings over six hours long results in $140. Mileage is paid at the current IRS rate.

Regular board meetings will continue to be 6:30 p.m. on the third Monday of each month in the high school media center. Due to federal holidays, the January meeting is Tuesday, Jan. 21 and the February meeting is Tuesday, Feb. 18.

The board elected to schedule work sessions as needed, at the discretion of the board chair and superintendent.

In other business, the board did as follows:

  • Named the Review Messenger the official school newspaper.

  • Authorized Community First Bank of Menahga and Sebeka, the Minnesota School District Liquid Asset Fund, Minnesota Trust and any other U.S. insured banking institution as the official school depositories.

  • Named Kennedy and Graven, Pemberton and Pederson as legal counsel.