Weather Forecast


Candidates file for county board, sheriff, SWCD

The candidate filing period for federal, state and county offices closed June 5.

County commissioners

In the Hubbard County Board race, Dave De La Hunt will oppose incumbent Vern Massie.

De La Hunt is a 1985 Park Rapids Area High School graduate. He is currently an owner in De La Hunt Broadcasting. He has been a Henrietta Township supervisor for over 10 years. De La Hunt said he believes he can bring a "different, fresh perspective" to the county board that is "rooted in a background of private enterprise, volunteer and public service experience."

Massie seeks a second term as county commissioner. He previously worked for Hubbard County as a county zoning administrator and solid waste administrator for more than 40 years. "When I ran the first time, I thought one term might be enough, but we did so much these past four years with new managers, new departments and union settlements and many other things that I am seeking re-election to work with the new staff and see how it all plays out," Massie said. "I have enjoyed serving the people of my district and the county, and although it takes a lot of time, I am committed to continue to listen to the taxpayers and represent them the best I can."

The District 1 county commissioner represents Lake Emma, Henrietta and Nevis townships.

In District 3, Tom Krueger is challenging incumbent Ed Smith. Krueger has served on the Hubbard County Planning Commission and Board of Adjustment for 16 years. He owns Sunny Point Resort on 2nd Crow Wing Lake.

Smith, who was elected as District 3 county commissioner in 2014, worked for the county highway department for more than 30 years before retiring.

District 3 represents Badoura, Crow Wing Lake, Hubbard, Straight River and White Oak townships.

Ted Van Kempen is the sole candidate for Hubbard County Commissioner District 5. Incumbent Cal Johannsen did not file for re-election. "This is my 16th year on the board," he said. "I just think it's time for me to spend more time with grandkids and taking care of my farming. It's not that I don't enjoy my job. It's just time for someone new."

Van Kempen has lived in the Bemidji area for over 40 years. He sits on the Hubbard County Planning Commission and Board of Adjustment. "I just feel I'd like to serve the constituents of Hubbard County, especially District 5," Van Kempen said of his decision to run for office.

District 5 represents Clay, Clover, Farden, Fern, Helga, Lake Alice, Lake George, Lake Hattie, Rockwood and Schoolcraft townships.

County commissioners serve four-year terms.

County sheriff

Dion Pederson is running against incumbent Cory Aukes for Hubbard County Sheriff.

Pederson is a Minnesota State Patrol accident reconstruction specialist and academy instructor, firearms instructor and certified armorer. He is eligible for retirement this fall. Pederson studied law enforcement at Alexandria Technical and Community College. He started his career in 1989 as a deputy with the Norman County Sheriff's Office.

"I'd like to end my career in the sheriff's office. For me, it'd be coming full circle," Pederson said. "I'm not ready to retire. With the training and experience I have, I believe I have a lot to offer the sheriff's office."

Aukes filed for a third term as Hubbard County Sheriff. A 1988 graduate of Park Rapids High School, he then attended Bemidji State University and received a degree in criminal justice. With 28 years in law enforcement, Aukes started his career in 1990 with the Hubbard County Sheriff's Office.

"I am very proud of what we have accomplished over the past eight years," he said. "I have surrounded myself with a great staff that shares the desire to provide a great service to the residents of Hubbard County, and I would be proud to serve another four years."

County attorney

Incumbent county attorney Jonathan Frieden is running unopposed. Hubbard County commissioners appointed Frieden in April 2017 following the retirement of Don Dearstyne.

Soil and water conservation districts

Three Hubbard County Soil and Water Conservation District (SWCD) supervisors — Districts 2, 4 and 5 — are on the November ballot.

Marcel Noyes seeks re-election as District 2 supervisor, which represents Farden, Guthrie, Hart Lake, Hendrickson, Lakeport and Steamboat River township. This term will end in 2020.

Donald Sells is re-running for the District 4 position, which represents Todd, Henrietta, Straight River townships and Hubbard Township west from County 11.

Incumbent Lynn Goodrich filed for District 5, representing Badoura, Crow Wing Lake, Henrietta, Nevis, White Oak townships, and Hubbard Township east from County 11.

SWCD supervisors serve four-year terms.

Contact the Hubbard County SWCD for more information about the openings at 732-0121 ext. 4.