Julia Kicker and Cherie Peterson took their oaths of office at the Menahga School Board’s special organizational meeting on Jan. 5.

Kicker ran for reelection and won. Peterson was the top write-in candidate, receiving 167 votes.

“I was interested in joining the Menahga School Board because I want to be able to do my part and be involved in my kids’ education,” Peterson explained after the meeting. “I was raised here and attended Menahga School until I graduated in 2006.”

The board also declared two vacancies, because Durwin Tomperi was elected to the Menahga City Council and Bob White declined the position so he can continue as the athletic director.

Qualified candidates are asked to submit a letter of interest to the district office by Jan. 22. The board will hold a special meeting at 6:30 p.m. Monday, Jan. 25 to interview candidates.

Newsletter signup for email alerts

Board chair Andrea Haverinen was reelected to the position, while Kicker was named vice-chair. Peterson will serve as treasurer and Katie Howard as clerk in 2021.

They agreed to keep school board compensation the same as last year: $1,200 for the chair, $250 for vice chair, clerk and treasurer. For regular, special, committee meetings or workshops that are less than four hours, board members are paid $75. If greater than four hours but less than six hours, the rate is $90. Meetings over six hours long results in $130. Mileage is paid at the current IRS rate.

Regular board meetings will continue to be 6:30 p.m. on the third Monday of each month in the media center. Due to federal holidays, the January meeting is Tuesday, Jan. 19 and the February meeting is Tuesday, Feb. 16.

In other business, the board did as follows:

  • Named the Review Messenger the official school newspaper.

  • Authorized Community First Bank of Menahga and Sebeka, the Minnesota School District Liquid Asset Fund, Minnesota Trust and any other U.S. insured banking institution as the official school depositories.

  • Named Kennedy and Graven, Pemberton and Pederson as legal counsel.

  • Named Menahga Elementary Principal Jeannie Mayer as the Title LEA representative for 2021.