The Park Rapids School Board had its annual re-organizational meeting on Monday.

In a rapid series of motions, all passed without dissent, the school board:

  • Re-elected its officers: Sherry Safrotowich, chair; Gary Gauldin, vice-chair; Stephanie Carlson, clerk; and Dennis Dodge, treasurer.

  • Kept board members’ compensation the same as last year. Board members are paid $3,900 per year, and the chair receives $4,500.

  • Approved the 2020 schedule for regular school board meetings as follows: 5 p.m. Wednesday, Jan. 22; 6 p.m. Monday, Feb. 3; 5 p.m. Wednesday, Feb. 19; and 6 p.m. the first and third Monday of every month thereafter.

  • Designated the Park Rapids Enterprise as the district’s official newspaper.

  • Designated, without change, the official depositories for school district funds and investments, and approved board officers’ facsimile signatures for computer-generated checks.

  • Approved the district’s membership in the Minnesota School Boards Association, the Northwest Service Cooperative, the North Country Vocational Cooperative, the Minnesota Rural Education Association (MREA), the Hubbard County Family Collaborative, joint powers agreements for the city-county fueling facility and community center, PAWN Special Education and Sourcewell.

In consent items and general business, the school board also did as follows:

  • Approved out-of-state travel for Shane Graham to attend the American Association of Physics Teachers winter conference with Bemidji State University, Jan. 18-20 in Orlando, Fla.

  • Hired Cody Quiring as a paraprofessional, effective Dec. 16, 2019.

  • Approved the resignations of Molly Kaiser as C-squad volleyball coach, Kevin Cederstrom as junior high softball coach and Mary Evink as human resources officer.

  • Approved custodial boiler certification pay. Evink explained this as “extra monies that will be paid to our custodians who maintain their boiler certification. The amount received will depend on the level of certification that they possess.”

  • Acknowledged donations including an Osmo Genius starter kit from Kristen Poehler’s second-grade classroom, $589 from DonorsChoose and Coborn’s to Julie Cook’s high school math classroom, and $750 from the Northwest Minnesota Foundation to the Club 309 after-school program.

The next school board meeting is specially scheduled for 5 p.m. Wednesday, Jan. 22 in the Frank White Education Center.